Child Advocacy Studies (CAST) Resources: Find Articles on a Topic

To increase the size of the video for playback, begin the video and in the lower right hand corner of the video, choose the full screen option (which looks like a square).

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

• Look for an Access Now (PDF) or PDF link.

• No Access Now (PDF) or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Access Options or Check for Full Text. 

• Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Journal Search. Enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.

• Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

PsycINFO is the preeminent database for finding articles that focus on psychology and related fields. Remember that different databases have different content, so it is always a good idea to search more than one database. As such, other databases are listed below. 

SEARCH HINTS:

• Select the Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles box, under Limit Your Results, to find scholarly/journal articles.
• If you only need a few articles, or have waited to the last minute to do your research, select Linked Full Text or Full Text (under Limit Your Results) to find articles available online.
• Be sure to print, save, or e-mail articles. Do not copy and paste the link in the search box of your Internet browser.
• Consider using other databases depending on the focus of your topic. For instance, there are subject-specific databases for criminal justice and health.

abused children

child abuse reporting

child neglect

child welfare

emotional abuse

failure to thrive

physical abuse

protective services

sexual abuse

verbal abuse