LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Issues: Finding Articles

Tips and Tricks

To increase the size of the video for playback, begin the video and in the lower right hand corner of the video, choose the full screen option (which looks like a square).

Search Strategies Video Transcript This is a transcript for the search strategies video.

Finding the Full Text (Complete) Articles

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.
No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Linked Full Text, Full Text Finder, or HTML Full Text.
Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.
Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.
- Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

Recommended Starting Points

In order to find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals, you must search the library's databases. It is a good idea to search more than one database since each database has different coverage/articles.

The following databases will get you started.

SEARCH HINTS:

Use the limiters at the bottom of the search page (under Limit Your Results). For example, be sure to check Peer Reviewed to find scholarly/journal articles and select English Language.
Be sure to print, save, or e-mail articles. Do not copy and paste the link from the search box of your Internet browser.
If you only need a few articles, or have waited to the last minute to do your research, select Linked Full Text or Full Text (at the bottom of the search page or in the left-hand column on the search results page) to find articles available online.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journals covering areas including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general multidisciplinary database.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.

Subject Databases

The Library has a variety of subject-specific databases that will be useful for your research. Choose one or more subject databases depending on the focus of your topic.

Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
Magazines covering fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, photography, and more with coverage from the late 19th century through the early 21st century.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art journalism content with limited full text from 1929-1984.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical data and current trends, simulating discourse on the present and future states of global business.

3460 active full-text journals and magazines and high-quality business reports from providers like Business Monitor International, Standard & Poors, Marketline, HIS Global CountryWatch Incorporated, and Barnes Reports.
Key Titles-
• Harvard Business Review
• Academy of Management Journal
• Accounting Review
• Journal of Marketing Research
• Bloomberg Businessweek
• Fortune
• Journal of Management
• MIS Quarterly
• Forbes
• Inc.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the communication discipline.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminology, criminal justice, criminal law, forensic sciences, and more.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for education research from early childhood to higher education.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Access to journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science.

*JSTOR NOW CONTAINS ARTSTOR MATERIALS. ARTSTOR AS ITS OWN DATABASE IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations.

Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers both classical and popular music. Features journals, performance reviews, reviews of sound recordings and videos, and more.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and peer reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Definitive research tool for theater and the performing arts.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science.

*JSTOR NOW CONTAINS ARTSTOR MATERIALS. ARTSTOR AS ITS OWN DATABASE IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
High quality arts, humanities, and social sciences journal articles from scholarly publishers.

A-Z Database & E-Resources List
All USC Upstate databases, arranged alphabetically. Also searchable by subject and type.

Search Terms

When searching, it is important to understand that everyday language does not always agree with terminology (subject headings) used in library databases. Some of these terms may be offensive or outdated. Acronyms can also be tricky.

EXAMPLES

For gender affirming surgery, try searching sex reassignment surgery

For LGBTQ+, also try searching Sexual Minorities or a specific group, such as gays, lesbians, bisexuals, or transgender

Need Help?

John Siegel

Coord. of Library Instructional Services

Contact:

864-503-5639
jsiegel2@uscupstate.edu
Office: Library 117D
Main Library: 864-503-5620

Subjects: Community Health, Exercise Science, Nursing / Health, Sociology / Women's Studies / Gender Studies

LGBTQ+ Issues: Finding Articles

Tips and Tricks

Finding the Full Text (Complete) Articles

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.

Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.

Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

Recommended Starting Points

Subject Databases

Search Terms

Need Help?