Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC Upstate Catalog
Add the word Juvenile or JUV to your search to limit to book in the Juvenile Collection.
Example: JUV AND Art
Juvenile AND Bears
*NOTE: Juvenile books are located in the back wall of the Library's main floor past the restrooms and is marked with lavender shelf lables.
Finding books NOT in USC Upstate Library - Public LIbraries
Quick access to titles not held by USC Upstate or those already checked out may be found at the local County Public Libraries. Below is a search box for Spartanburg Public Libraries and a link to Greenville Public Library catalog. The public libraries use the Dewy Decimal classification system of organization so call numbers will be different from USC Upstate Catalog, make sure to have the title and or the author of the book you are looking for.
Spartanburg Public Library has several branches around Spartanburg County. You can barrow books if you have a Spartanburg County Library Card, a Greenville County Library Card, or you can get a "College Card" at the library by showing your current USC Upstate ID card.
Greenville County Library System also has several branches and offers reciprocal loan agreements with Spartanburg County.
Finding books NOT in USC Upstate Library - Academic Libraries Beyond USC Upstate
PASCAL Delivers is a rapid book-delivery service provided by the Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries which enables students, faculty, and staff across the state to request and receive books from academic libraries in South Carolina.
PASCAL Delivers you have access to ALL Academic Libraries in the state of South Carolina, many have a Juvenile Collection and lend these books through PASCAL Delivers.
This service is available to USC Upstate faculty members, staff and currently-enrolled students at no cost. When materials arrive you will be notified by e-mail. Requested materials can be picked up at the USC Upstate Library, at the UCG Library for students attending there, or mailed to your home if you attend neither campus and live outside of Spartanburg County. REMEMBER this can take up to three weeks to obtain materials.
Reading Lists - What Do I Read Next?
NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University, which is a collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three. Search over 900 keywords (topics, concepts, and skills) to locate books with story lines adaptable to your curriculum or program.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature (DAWCL)
This database has over 9,600 records from 106 awards across six English speaking countries. Instructions for searching the database and an explanation of the indexed awards is included
International Reading Association - Reading Lists
Each year, thousands of children, young adults, teachers, and librarians around the United States select their favorite recently published books for the "Choices" reading lists. These lists are used in classrooms, libraries, and homes to help young readers find books they will enjoy.
The annotated reading lists of Choices selections for the current year are made available in May, just before Children's Book Week, and are available for free download. Check individual Choices programs below for details.
ONLINE Children's Books
Children's literature including novels, nonfiction, stories, poems, and kid’s classics all from the out of copyright.
Children's Books Online Rosetta Project
Online Library of pre-1930's books and illustrations digitized for online reading. Some books have been translated in to multiple languages.
Free Children's Books
Original and free access to children's books
The Gateway to the Classics Formerly The Baldwin Online Children's Project
Our library of books to read online includes hundreds of titles in a wide variety of genres, with special emphasis on history, literature, and natural history. In addition to the thousands of stories we make available to you, we now offer a collection of over 2500 poems. A small number of audio recordings of books, poems, and songs are now accessible from some devices.
The Indianapolis Public Library Read Aloud Books
Listed below are more than 100 video read alouds from old classics like Where the Wild Things Are to newer favorites like Little Jumbo. It's story time online! This listening library is available all day every day (and all night!) for returning to old favorites. “Read it again!” has never been easier!
International Children's Digital Library
Searchable / browse-able database of 1,562 children's books from around the world. Includes books in 37 different languages. All can be read online.
This award-winning website from Oxford University Press is your online resource for children’s books and other reading activities. Designed to support their learning at school and at home. Once you register for free, you can access more than 250 free Oxford ebooks for kids along with storytelling videos, games and guides that help them develop their reading skills.
The SAG-AFTRA Foundation records well-known actors reading children’s books and makes graphically dynamic videos so that children around the world can be read to with just the click of a Storyline Online video book image
Book Review Databases
The following databases are available through the USC Upstate Library to students and faculty.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Awards, reviews, biographical information about authors and illustrators, and other information about children’s literature. (https://tinyurl.com/ybfjyb37)
Choice Reviews Online
Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. (https://tinyurl.com/ycb9jhwf)