LibGuides: Exploring & Finding Topics: Controversial Issues

Statistics Resources

LibGuide on Statistical Resources
This LibGuide has many resources for statistics for World, U.S., South Carolina; also Economic and Healthcare.

FedStats This link opens in a new window
A free government source for federal statistical information.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, dating back to 1878.

News Sources

Greenville News This link opens in a new window
Full text to The Greenville (SC) News from 1999 to present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, legal, business, medical news and reference information.
U.S. Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Also includes limited runs of Spartanburg Herald-Journal (2007-2016), Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and Asheville Citizen-Times. For title list, please click "more."
Title list: https://search.proquest.com/southeastnews/publicationbrowse?accountid=28698

Library Catalog Searches for Series

Contemporary Wold Issues - Catalog Results
This series offers comprehensive, one-volume reference handbooks on important topics related to health, education, the environment, and social and ethical issues. Contemporary World Issues covers the controversial topics that students, readers, and citizens want to read about, write about, and know more about.
Taking Sides Series - Catalog Results
Taking Sides is a collection of books that offer pro/con essays on current and classic issues. Essays written by leading scholars, researchers and commentators in multiple disciplines such as drugs, educational issues, sex & gender, technology, and more. This link takes you to the catalog search for “taking sides” search.
Current Controversies Series - Catalog Results
Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of primary sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic. Extensive book and periodical bibliographies and a list of organizations to contact are also included.

Many of the resources on this page are considered opinion pieces. Be very careful when using materials that are opinions in your research. Many professors do NOT want you to use opinions but rather want you to use factual research. The resources on this page are better used to offer many points of view on controversial topics, and to help you consider alternate viewpoints on issues you may be writing about.

Databases

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context offers informed differing viewpoints on business, environmentalism, health, politics, technology, ethics, society, diplomacy and more to help develop critical-thinking skills. Each entry has pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, background information, periodical articles, and other multimedia resources.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

Exploring & Finding Topics: Controversial Issues

Statistics Resources

News Sources

Library Catalog Searches for Series

Databases

Fact vs Opinion Video