Graphic Design: Catalog & Books

This book is the perfect desk reference for anyone who designs or works with designers. It reduces the complexities of today's design work into seven basic elements: Research, Typography, Contrast, Layout, Grid Systems, Identity Design and Critique & Analysis.

Breaking the Rules in Publication Design showcases annual reports, brochures, book jackets, catalogs, magazines, newsletters, collateral, promotions and electronic publishing that break new ground in graphic design.

The technological advances that have flooded the graphic design industry have challenged the basic foundations upon which good graphic design is built. Design Basics presents hundreds of examples from the best graphic designers whose work reflects the most fundamental areas of graphic art - strong layout, compelling color, and good use of typography.

This essential book explains the processes behind creating and designing type.

Exploring Typography introduces and examines the principles of typography. Coverage begins with a brief history of type and a survey of how type is classified. Readers then learn about the physical components of letters and the rules of legibility, readability, and style. Subsequent chapters survey the creative use of emphasis, designing effective layouts, using grids, and developing original type styles.

Using a combination of explanatory text, step-by-step photographs and classic and contemporary examples, this unique survey brings together over 130 processes involved in creating lettering and applying it to surfaces.

* Demystifies Web typography by revealing the secrets of professional developers! * Shows how to find, select and implement Web typography that will give any site a slick, professional look! * Demonstrates how to use Cascading Style Sheets and other technologies to control the way type appears on any browser! * Describes how to make beautifully design sites download super-fast. * Shows how to set type that wraps around images and other objects on the page. * Provides professional secrets for increasing type legibility. * Provides recipes for type special effects that will "wow" site visitors and ensure that they come back for more! * Includes real-world case studies and examples from top companies. * Includes interviews with top Web design experts and Web type gurus.

* Demystifies Web typography by revealing the secrets of professional developers! * Shows how to find, select and implement Web typography that will give any site a slick, professional look! * Demonstrates how to use Cascading Style Sheets and other technologies to control the way type appears on any browser! * Describes how to make beautifully design sites download super-fast. * Shows how to set type that wraps around images and other objects on the page. * Provides professional secrets for increasing type legibility. * Provides recipes for type special effects that will "wow" site visitors and ensure that they come back for more! * Includes real-world case studies and examples from top companies. * Includes interviews with top Web design experts and Web type gurus.

Addresses the management and technical issues that arise when Web sites move from brochureware to sophisticated application deployment platforms. This book builds on various software engineering principles, defining a model for process-driven Web site development. It provides an insight into various issues of Web site development.

Becoming a Graphic Designer provides a comprehensive survey of the graphic design market, including complete coverage of print and electronic media and the evolving digital design disciplines that offer today's most sought-after jobs. Featuring 65 interviews with today's leading designers, this visual guide has more than 600 illustrations and covers everything from education and training, design specialties, and work settings to preparing an effective portfolio and finding a job. The book offers profiles of major industries and key design disciplines, including all-new coverage of careers in exhibition design and illustration.