ENGL U389 - Gay & Lesbian Literature: MLA International Bibliography

Using MLA International Bibliography begins with a search. The bibliography offers many search options, which can be selected and combined to tailor the results to your specific needs.

These options include:

• literary authors and their works (e.g., “Chaucer, Geoffrey”; “The Canterbury Tales”)
• subject terms, including people, characters, places, periods, movements, and subject matter (e.g., “Dickens, Charles,” “Miss Havisham,” “1800-1899,” “Victorian,” and “wealth”)
• titles of articles, books, and other scholarly works indexed in the bibliography
• academic authors and their works (e.g., “Graver, Bruce”; “Why Chaucer's Prioress?”)
• language of publication (e.g., “French language”)
• date of publication (e.g., “2009,” “2005-2015”)
• limit to peer-reviewed journal articles

Many of your results will include direct links to full text. These links will say PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, or Linked Full Text.

MLA International Bibliography is an index and therefore contains articles that do not have linked full text. To find out if the Upstate Library has access to the article, go to our searching tool and click on Journal Search up at the top of the page. Type in the name of the journal to see if we have access. In the search results, check to see if we have access to the year your article was published. Click on the corresponding database and then search within that database for your article. You can refer to the Journal Search video on the Articles/Databases tab of this research guide if you need more instruction.

If the Upstate Library does not have access to the article you are looking for, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow a few days for us to get your article.

If you get stuck, just remember that you can Ask-a-Librarian!