Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of the websites listed here will be helpful with the translation of words or phrases, the others with conjugation or pronunciation.
Professional Translation Tools
American Translators Association
ATA was established to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
International Federations of Translators
FIT (the Fédération Internationale des Traducteurs/International Federation of Translators) is an international grouping of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists. More than 100 professional associations are affiliated, representing more than 80 000 translators in 55 countries. The goal of the Federation is to promote professionalism in the disciplines it represents. It seeks constantly to improve conditions for the profession in all countries and to uphold translators' rights and freedom of expression.
Chartered Institute of Linguistics (CIOL)
The Chartered Institute of Linguists (CIOL) is the pre-eminent UK-based professional membership body for language practitioners. It aims to enhance the recognition and promote the value of languages and language skills in the public interest.
The world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Offers various multilingual dictionaries including English/Finnish dictionary, Chinese characters Web dictionary, and the English/Danish Glassary of Electronic Terms.
Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
available through the University Of Notre Dame website, this source provides translation from Latin into English and vise versa.
A multilingual dictionary offers more than 250 languages some of which are extinct.
A Russian-English and English-Russian dictionary with alphabetic, morphologic, and phrase search options.
Verbix Verb Conjugator
A verb-conjugating tool for hundreds of languages.
Since 1995 our online dictionary has offered you German <> English translations: fast, efficient, user-friendly and, of course, free. Beolingus belongs to the Chemnitz University of Technology and offers German translation into English, Spanish, Portuguese, and vice verse.
Dyer Labs - the site is equipped with technical and scientific glossaries.
Health Information Translations
Health Information Translations provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Intended for patients with limited English proficiency, this resource offers a compilation of health issues in multiple languages with the original in English.
The Perseus Catalog
The Perseus Catalog is an attempt to provide systematic catalog access to at least one online edition of every major Greek and Latin author (both surviving and fragmentary) from antiquity to 600 CE. Still a work in progress, […]