LibGuides: Historic Newspapers: Newspaper Databases at USC Upstate

Accessing Historic Newspapers through the SC State Library

The South Carolina State Library has access to a number of historic newspapers dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries, including The State (1891-current), through the NewsBank database.

South Carolina residents 18 and older can access materials from the SC State Library (including databases) by registering for a library card.
If you are an out-of-state student, you must use your USC Upstate email and local mailing address when applying.
Applications can be completed by visiting the SC State Library website here.

Newspaper Databases

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
For title list, please click "more."
Title list: https://tinyurl.com/vo34r5w
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Historical U.S. newspapers provided by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Greenville News This link opens in a new window
Full text to The Greenville (SC) News from 1999 to present.
Historical Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes international, African-American, and Jewish titles. For details on collection contents, please see https://search.proquest.com/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=28698
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina This link opens in a new window
Historic local and regional newspapers throughout South Carolina dating back to the 1700s.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Online collection of 19th Century newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Provides historical, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and events;
U.S. Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Also includes limited runs of Spartanburg Herald-Journal (2007-2016), Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and Asheville Citizen-Times. For title list, please click "more."
Title list: https://search.proquest.com/southeastnews/publicationbrowse?accountid=28698

Other Historic Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes links to full text. Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text. JSTOR offers full-text on-line access to back issues of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Issues are entered on-line after having been published for 2-5 years. The entire printed matter of the journal as published is included, and coverage for most titles begins with their starting issues.