“think of the words of Dr. Maya Angelou: “Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.” Doing our best now is an active thing, and so is knowing better. We don’t show up and then wait to magically know better. We show up and then, when we are corrected, we keep working. We listen hard so we can know better next time. We seek out teachers so we can know better next time. We let burn our ideas about how good and well-meaning we are so we can become better next time. Learning to know better is a commitment. We will only know better if we continue unbecoming.”
― Glennon Doyle, Untamed
Diversity is defined as the differences between people. Diversity can be real or perceived differences between people. These differences include but are not limited to race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, and socioeconomic status. In a diverse world, people acknowledge the differences that exist among individuals.
Multiculturalism is more complex than simply noticing the diversity or differences that exist in society. Multiculturalism focuses on being inclusiveness, understanding, respecting, and acknowledging unequal power in society. Furthermore, people are aware of the advantages or disadvantages of being a particular, race, gender, sexual orientation, religion or socioeconomic status is society. In a multicultural world, people accept and embrace the differences of others into their lives.
"What's the Difference Between a Diverse and a Multicultural World?" Hybrid parenting. Hybrid Parenting, 15 Aug. 2014. Web. 20 Mar. 2017.
The Juvenile Collection is located on the library’s main floor in the compact shelving (moving shelves) the corner of the library, just before the bound periodicals. The Juvenile Collection contains a wide variety of books from picture books to young adult level books, both fiction and non-fiction and covers a multitude of topics. The library collects many award winning titles which are often listed on the catalog record for each title (you can search for certain award titles by searching for the award name in the catalog "Newberry" for example). This collection is cataloged like the rest of the library using the Library of Congress classification system (This means that the books are not separated by reading level, or by whether they are fiction or non-fiction).
Students can check out an unlimited number of books for the typical three (3) week loan period. We ask that you do not reshelve the books you look at but rather return them to the circulation desk, one of the bins around the library or just leave them on a convenient table.
This guide was created by USC Upstate Librarian Laura Karas with special thanks to Coordinator of Collection Development Librarian Camille McCutcheon.
USC Upstate Library has added two new collections that may be helpful in finding materials. The library how has an Inclusive Juvenile Collection and the USC Upstate Braille Collection. These are results for These books are housed in a separate location and require assistance to gain access to them. They can be found in the catalog if you limit by the location "Inclusive Juvenile Collection" or USC Upstate Braille Collection".