Skip to main content

Juvenile / Children's Literature: Home

Guide to finding and using Juvenile Literature in the USC Upstate collection

Juvenile Collection Header image - kids reading

About the Juvenile Collection

The Juvenile Collection is located on the library’s main floor in the compact shelving (moving shelves) the corner of the library, just before the bound periodicals.  The Juvenile Collection contains a wide variety of books from picture books to young adult level books, both fiction and non-fiction and covers a multitude of topics. The library collects many award winning titles which are often listed on the catalog record for each title (you can search for certain award titles by searching for the award name in the catalog "Newberry" for example). This collection is cataloged like the rest of the library using the Library of Congress classification system (This means that the books are not separated by reading level, or by whether they are fiction or non-fiction).

Students can check out an unlimited number of books for the typical three (3) week loan period.  We ask that you do not reshelve the books you look at but rather return them to the circulation desk, one of the bins around the library or just leave them on a convenient table.

The more that you READ, the more things tyou will

First Books Board Books (birth to 4 yrs) Concept Books (birth to 4 yrs) Picture Books (3 to 8 yrs) Picture Story Books (5 to 8 yrs) Rhythmic Books (5 to 8 yrs) Early Readers (5 to 7 yrs) First Chapter Books (6 to 7 yrs) Chapter Books (8 to 10 yrs) Middle Grade Novels (8 to 12 yrs) Tween novels (10 to 14 yrs) Younger YA Novels (13 to 16 yrs) Older YA Novels (15 to 18 yrs) New Adults (17 to 20 yrs)

This guide was created by USC Upstate Librarian Laura Karas with special thanks to Coordinator of Collection Development Librarian Camille McCutcheon.