LibGuides: SPCH 333 Advanced Public Speaking: Picking a Topic and Finding Resouces

Finding Articles and News in Databases

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and essays on both sides of many major topics.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Library of current event topics: Facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, legal, business, medical news and reference information.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general multidisciplinary database.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Complete content of popular Wilson databases plus more.

Databases represented are: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text and Wilson Business Full Text.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Articles on hundreds of thousands of individuals.
Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Limited full text information on notable individuals spanning from 1946-1983.

Statistics, like other facts, can enhance a speech and make a stronger case for your perspective.

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world provided by the Central Intelligence Agency.
FedStats This link opens in a new window
A free government source for federal statistical information.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, dating back to 1878.
Historical Statistics of the United States Online This link opens in a new window
Detailed statistical information covering a vast array of topics.

United Nations UNdata
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

Great Speakers are not born by Kops, George
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780883915554
Publication Date: 2017
Designed for the busy executive, a modern guide to delivering outstanding presentations both visually and verbally, to effectively communicate your message and become a better presenter.
Own Any Occasion by Erik Palmer
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1562866850
Publication Date: 2017-10-07
Get to the Point! by Joel Schwartzberg
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781523094134
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
The Gift of the Gab by David Crystal
Call Number: PN 4051.2 .C79 2016 ALSO eBook
ISBN: 030021426X
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
The 100 with 10 Extra Speeches: Insights and Lessons from 110 of the Greatest Speakers and Speeches Ever Delivered by Simon Maier ans Jeremy Kourdi (Author)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9814328553
Publication Date: 2011