Skip to main content

Citing Art, Music, Images, & Social Media: Images

This LibGuide aims to support anyone working to cite more than a book.

Photos, films, and other images

Citing Images the Basics Infographic

Streaming video library database

Some streaming databases, such as Films on Demand, may provide links for citing materials found in the database.  The information presented may be incorrect.  It is strongly suggested that you consult the correct handbook for the correct form of citations.

A caution: the videos in the library databases may be broken in segments. When citing the film, you should include the information from the full video in your citation. 

Bibliographic Entry
Two Dollars and A Dream. Directed by Stanley Nelson. Produced by Stanley Nelson. [New York?]: Filmakers Library, 1989. Accessed September 25, 2014. http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1785149.

MLA

Film produced then put on web

Directors Last Name, First Initial. (Director). (year published). Film Title [Video file]. Country: studio/distributor. Retrieved Date. from URL of Publication.

Citing a photograph displayed

Last, First M. Photograph Title. Year Created. Photograph. Museum/Institution, Location.

Citing a photograph from a book

Last, First M. Photograph Title. Year Created. Photograph. Museum/Institution, Location. Book Title. City: Publisher, Year Published. Page(s). Print

Citing a photograph found on a website

Last, First M. Photograph Title. Year Created. Photograph. Museum/Institution, Location. Website Title. Web. Date Month Year Accessed.

Citing a photograph from a database

Last, First M. Photograph Title. Year Created. Photograph. Museum/Institution, Location. Database Title. Web. Date Month Year Accessed.

APA

How to Cite a Photograph in APA

Photographer, F.M. (Photographer). (Year, month date of publication). Title of photograph[photograph]. City, State of publication: Publisher/museum.

Citing an Online Photograph

Photographer, F.M. (Photographer). (Year, Month Date of Publication). Title of Photograph [digital image]. Retrieved from URL

APA citations for Film / Online Videos

Last, F. (Producer). (year published). Film Title [Motion picture on Media type]. Country: Studio/distributor.

Film produced then put on web

Directors Last Name, First Initial. (Director). (year published). Film Title [Video file]. Country: studio/distributor. Retrieved Date. from URL of Publication.

Chicago

Chicago citations for Photograph or Image

Last, First M. Photograph Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location.

Chicago citations for a Photograph in Print

Last, First M. Photograph Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location. In Book Title. City: Publisher, Year Published.

Chicago citations for Film or DVD

Last Name, First. Film Title. Medium. Directed by First Name Last Name. Distributor City: Distributor, Year of Release.

Doe, Jane. Me: The Movie. DVD. Directed by John Smith. Los Angeles: Columbia, 2001.

 

Title of Film. Directed by First M. Last. Year. City, State: Distributor Name, Format [Film, DVD or VHS].