Skip to main content

Chemistry: Finding Articles on a Topic or by Author

This guide will assist Chemistry students.

Finding the Full Text (Complete) Articles

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

  • Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.

  • No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Linked Full Text, Full Text Finder, or HTML Full Text.‚Äč

  • Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper, not the title of the article.

  • Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

    • Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

Second Tier Databases

American Chemical Society Publications

HELPFUL HINT

  • Be sure to save articles to a flash drive OR your desktop. The e-mail function does not work and will not get you back to the article.

DETERMINING ARTICLE IMPACT USING AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY PUBLICATIONS DATABASE

When you find an article of interest in American Chemical Society Publications, select the link for the title of the article

  • Choose Citing Articles in right-hand column.
    • If there is no Citing Articles link, then either the article is recently published and/or the article has never been cited.

ScienceDirect

HELPFUL HINTS

  • The Library does not subscribe to all ScienceDirect journals. Check Full Text Finder. If the article is not available, request it via Interlibrary LoanDo not pay for articles!
  • Be sure to save articles to your flash drive or computer. You cannot e-mail articles from this databases.

DETERMINING ARTICLE IMPACT USING SCIENCEDIRECT

When you find an article of interest in ScienceDirect, select the link for the title of the article

  • In the right-hand column of the page, select the "Citing Articles" link if the article has been cited at least once.

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar is a leading chemistry database. To use SciFinder scholar, you will first need to register for an account using the link below. You only need to do this once.

HELPFUL HINTS

  • To find publications written by a particular researcher, use the Author Name search in the left-hand column.
  • SciFinder Scholar does not contain links to complete articles (full text). Use Full Text Finder to find out if the library has access to full text. If the article is not available through Full Text Finder, use Interlibrary Loan.

DETERMINING ARTICLE IMPACT USING SCIFINDER SCHOLAR:

After you have completed a search, on the search resutls page:

  • Choose the title link for an article you are interested in.
  • Choose Get Related Citations at the top of the page. 
  • Select Get Citing to view the references citing the selected documents.
    • If the article has been cited, you will obtain a list of articles.