Skip to main content

Nursing: Library Resources: Home

New Library System!

On June 1, the Upstate Library introduced a new library system that will change the way you access books and other library materials. When you connect to the library web site, you will find a single search box for books and a selection of databases, meaning you can search for books, articles, and media in one search. You will also be able to choose what you want to search, limit your results to specific materials, and will still be able to access library databases through the Databases and E-Resources page and this library guide. This guide will be updated as soon as possible after the change.

Services for Distance Education Students and Remote Access

Plagiarism Prevention Module

Reference E-Books for Nursing

Finding Biographical Information for Nursing History

If you need to find information on a historical person, start with a good reference source! In addition to some of the specialized encyclopedias listed on other parts of this guide, try these multidisciplinary databases. Gale In Context: Biography has value added as it includes articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and even primary sources as well as articles from reference books. Credo Reference has topic pages on the most famous people that link to searches in other library databases. Once you have a good grasp of a person's biography and importance, you can find more specific information in articles in the core Nursing databases.