Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services for Students
As a student taking online or hybrid courses or attending classes at University Center in Greenville, you still have full access to most library resources and services--even print books from our collection! Read on to find out more!
Books and Media
Upstate has a new library system that replaces the old catalog. Use SearchUp to search for books, articles, media and more! You can also limit to certain materials. Watch a short video introduction to SearchUp!
Search the Upstate catalog and more!
Tip: log in to SearchUp with your Upstate username and password to get additional results from databases that require a separate log in and to be able to make requests for library materials and PASCAL Delivers.
PASCAL (Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries) is a state-wide consortium of more than 50 academic libraries in the state. In addition to providing some of our databases and ebooks, PASCAL has two important services that allow you to borrow print books from other academic libraries (both of these services require the use of your Carolina Card), a rapid book delivery service, and the Visiting Patron service.
Go to the SearchUp catalog and choose "PASCAL Delivers" to search the collections of more than 50 South Carolina academic libraries. Request available items and choose a convenient "pickup institution" if you don't want to use the Upstate Library. Loan period is six weeks with one three-week renewal.
Visiting Patron - If you are in "good standing" with the Upstate Library (i.e., no unpaid fees) and have a Carolina Card, you may go in person to visit another PASCAL member library and check out books. This service is limited to three items with a loan period of three weeks with one three-week renewal.
Databases & Articles
A-Z Database List
This page is an alphabetical listing of all databases provided by the Upstate Library. If you know the name of a database you want to search, look it up in the A-Z list. You can also sort by subject and database type to see what databases fit your needs. Your USC Upstate Username and Password are required to access subscription databases from off campus.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
With ILL Express! you may place Interlibrary Loan requests, check the status of your requests, renew materials, and communicate with the Interlibrary Loan Department - all through your web browser.
When you have questions about the library or finding information for class assignments, ask a librarian! Our chat and text service is available 24/7, and during normal service hours you can phone in or visit the reference desk in Spartanburg in person! You can also set up an appointment with a librarian (including at University Center in Greenville!) through the Book a Librarian button.
Log in to SearchUp to access your account under your name in the top right corner. From here, you can renew books from the Upstate and PASCAL libraries and track Interlibrary Loan requests.