It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Distance Learners and Distributed Education: Support for Faculty
The USC Upstate Library has several services to support faculty teaching distributed education courses as shown below. If you have questions about using library resources or open educational resources in your course, contact Andrew Kearns, Coordinator of Distributed Education, or your departmental Library Liaison.
Using Upstate Library Resources in Your Course
The Upstate Library provides a wealth of electronic sources (articles, ebooks, images, streaming audio and video) that can be linked to your Blackboard course site.
When linking to electronic resources such as articles and ebooks from Blackboard, it is important to use a persistent link (aka stable url or permalink) when available and to include the library proxy url if you want it to be accessible to students from off campus.
Here are some of the more important databases for streaming video and ebooks:
For streaming access to theatrical films and documentaries from most major studios (with the exception of 20th Century Fox), you may use this web site to search for films that can be requested through your library liaison. Allow three weeks for processing your request. When approved, you will receive a streaming link that can be placed in Blackboard.
One of the large ebook collections covering all subjects. Includes many titles formerly part of NetLibrary as well as titles purchased by the Upstate Library. Additional titles are provided by PASCAL. They are included in the Library Catalog, but you can also search this database directly.
For more information on how to use EBSCO e-books, visit https://ebsco.libguides.com/ebooks
A large collection covering all subject areas. Ebook Central combines and expands the former EBL and ebrary products. Many of these titles are provided by PASCAL. Although they are included in the Library Catalog, you can also search the database directly.
For detailed tutorials on how to use ProQuest Ebook Central, visit http://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
Library instruction includes much more than face to face library sessions! We have a range of online materials and the ability to customize library guides or even to create tutorials for your course. Visit this page to learn more!
You may place personal and library materials on reserve for your course at the USC Upstate Circulation Desk. The Library can also assist with electronic reserves disseminated through Blackboard. If you teach at University Center in Greenville, contact Andrew Kearns about our informal system of course reserves there.
This guide explains how librarians can help you find and use low-cost and no-cost learning materials. It also links to PASCAL's SCALE initiative, which includes the Open Textbook Library and other resources for OER.
Scan and Deliver is a service provided by the USC Upstate Library Circulation Department. The Library will send articles and book chapters to your desktop as an email attachment. This service is available at no charge to USC Upstate Faculty and Staff. All Scan and Deliver requests must be submitted electronically using the form on this page.
Proxy Cards allow faculty to assign a designated representative to check out and retrieve library materials for them. Faculty must review information, accept responsibility and request a proxy card online.
Greenville Campus Information
Andrew Kearns is available to teach library instruction sessions and provide reference services for students and faculty at University Center Greenville.