Full Text Finder can be used to determine whether or not our library has access to a particular article.
Why The Need?
Our library subscribes to hundreds of databases from a variety of companies. These databases don't always link well with one another. If a particular database you are searching returns only the description or abstract (but not full text) of an article, it may seem like the full text is not available. In reality, the full text might be found in another database we get from another company. Full Text Finder is a way to link you to the entire article when possible, even when the first database may show no full text, this is called a link resolver.
There are three primary ways to access the product:
1. In the database you are using (if it shows up as an option see below for example)
2. From our FULL TEXT FINDER link on the Library Resources Page
3. Through any links or widgets provided in your course LibGuides
If you have the citation (author, title, title of the journal, page number, etc) for an article and want to get a copy of the full text for it follow these steps:
Once you type your search term(s) into a given database, you'll pull up a list of results. The below example comes from searching "dogs" in Academic Search Complete. Notice that articles with full text contain a PDF link beneath the article title/description (see square). Articles that don't contain full text will have a link to Full Text Finder, where available (see circle). Ignore the “Check Journal Finder” link, as that will soon be going away. If the article gives you the option of clicking Full Text Finder, then that link will take you to other locations where the article may be found. If the article is, in fact, not available in any of our resources, then you will receive instructions on how to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
USING FULL TEXT FINDER FROM OUR HOMEPAGE:
1. Full Text Finder may be accessed from the Library’s homepage under Resources (Home > Academics > Library > Resources (in list on left). Look for the Full Text Finder button.
2. From here, you will see the main search page. Enter the TITLE OF THE JOURNAL (not the article title from the citation you may be working from). If you have the ISSN of the journal, you may search by that, as well. If you are just looking around, you may want to browse by discipline. To start a new search, click “Publications” in the upper left corner. Book titles may also display, as well, depending on your search. As is the case when accessing Full Text Finder from a database, clicking the full text link that displays will take you directly to the text.
For more detailed information about Full Text Finder the following video was created by EBSCO the creators of the took they call Publication Finder we call Full Text Finder.