Skip to main content

Jill Adams: Find Articles

English U101 Jill Adams All Sections

Off-Campus Access

Some resources and services offered by the USC Upstate Library require users to log in with their USC Upstate username and password, which is also used to log in to campus computers. Students, faculty and staff encounter the "Enter Network Password" box when using some of the Library resources and services off-campus. For more help and explanation see: Remote access to USC Upstate Databases

The University's IT Help Desk can help you if you need to create an account or have other computer or password problems.

The Library Databases are for Student, Staff and Faculty use if you would like access to them and are not a current Student, Staff or Faculty member you may visit the Library during regular hours and request a visitors pass.

Article Title

1. Can be searched in article databases.

2. Cannot be found in the catalog.

3. Has page number(s) in addition to publication year, volume, issue number.

4. Published only once. If it ever republished, it will show up in a different periodical title.

Periodical Title

1. Can be found in Journal Finder, the catalog, and article databases.

2. Has publication date, volume, issue number.

3. Published on a regular basis.

4. The Journal Finder lists periodicals available in electronic, paper or microfilm format.

What is a Database?

A databases is a collection of organized information.

One type of library database is the library catalog, the catalog searches for books, e-books, and other physical materials in the library, such as dvds and videos but will not search for specific articles from journals.

What you think of most often with library databases is the over 250 databases the library subscribes to that search for scholarly information.  These databases are like search engines allowing you to search using key words but unlike search engines that search for free information the information library databases search consists of published journals, magazines, reports, documents, newspapers, books, image collections, and more, information that is copyrighted, licensed, and proprietary information. USC Upstate Library pays for access to these databases so that students can access the information.

Most databases contain full text or indexing (citations & citations with abstracts) to articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Some databases also contain full text or indexing to book chapters, reports, essays, primary documents, and government documents. Some databases are multidisciplinary and cover a variety of topics, while others cover only very specific topics.  If you find an article without full text, check the Journal Finder or Full Text Finder and see if the periodical title is available in full text through other article databases OR ask a librarian to help you find it full text. If not, use the Interlibrary Loan service and allow 10 to 14 business days for the material to arrive.

Relevant Article Databases