Skip to main content

Preface- Reading Program: Database

A guide for all Preface Novel Libguides

From Hisory in Context

Academic Journals

·         Who Intermarries? Education, Nativity, Region, and Interracial Marriage, 1980 and 1990 [*]

Journal of Comparative Family Studies, Autumn 1999

From World History in Context

Issues related to interracial and interfaith marriages are examined, focusing on explanations for the marriages and trends across the US. Data is presented concerning experiences of whites, Asian Americans, Hispanic...

·         Introduction

Journal of the History of Sexuality, September 2011

From World History in Context

This issue of the Journal of the History of Sexuality had its genesis as a conference hosted by the Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity at the University of California, San Diego, on 17 January 2009. The results...

·         Freedom National: The Destruction of Slavery in the United States, 1861-1865

The Historian, Summer 2014

From World History in Context

Freedom National: The Destruction of Slavery in the United States, 1861-1865. By James Oakes. (New York, NY: W. W. Norton, 2013. Pp. xxiv, 595. $27.95.) The author of this study charts the evolution of Civil War-era...

·         The Fall of the House of Dixie: The Civil War and the Social Revolution That Transformed the South

Journal of Southern History, May 2014

From World History in Context

The Fall of the House of Dixie: The Civil War and the Social Revolution That Transformed the South. By Bruce Levine. (New York: Random House, 2013. Pp. [xx], 439. $30.00, ISBN 978-1-4000-6703-9.) Freedom National: The...

·         The Hammer and the Anvil: Frederick Douglass, Abraham Lincoln, and the End of Slavery in America

Journal of Southern History, November 2013

From World History in Context

The Hammer and the Anvil: Frederick Douglass, Abraham Lincoln, and the End of Slavery in America. By Dwight Jon Zimmerman. Illustrated by Wayne Vansant. Foreword by James M. McPherson. (New York: Hill and Wang, 2012. Pp....

·         Marriage Rights in the Media

Chinese America: History and Perspectives, Annual 2007

From World History in Context

My mother, who is Chinese American, was only able to marry my father, who is white, because of the California Supreme Court's 1948 Perez decision overturning California's anti-miscegenation law. Without that decision, my...

·         Who Intermarries? Education, Nativity, Region, and Interracial Marriage, 1980 and 1990 [*]

Journal of Comparative Family Studies, Autumn 1999

From World History in Context

Issues related to interracial and interfaith marriages are examined, focusing on explanations for the marriages and trends across the US. Data is presented concerning experiences of whites, Asian Americans, Hispanic...

Primary Sources

·         The Social Equality of Whites and Blacks

Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources, 2006

From World History in Context

Magazine article By: W.E.B. Du Bois Date: November, 1920 Source: Du Bois, W.E.B. "The Social Equality of Whites and Blacks." The Crisis. 21(1920):16. About the Author: William Edward Burghardt Du Bois was one of the most...

Reference

·         Black-White Intermarriage

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2008

From World History in Context

The term intermarriage typically refers to marriages between individuals of different socially constructed racial and ethnic groups. In the United States, however, these unions are usually defined as interracial. Such...

·         Sex and Sexuality

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450, 2007

From World History in Context

The various economic, social, and political underpinnings of European colonialism created a powerful psychosexual residue that asserted itself as a driving ambiguous impulse in the imperial project. Sex was the core of...

·         Miscegenation

Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery, 1998

From World History in Context

Though Europeans and Africans engaged in sexual activity with one another from their earliest years of contact in the fifteenth century, only in 1864 did David Croly, a journalist, coin the term "miscegenation" to refer...

·         Miscegenation

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2008

From World History in Context

Miscegenation is generally defined as an intimate sexual relationship between individuals of different races. In practice, however, it has mostly referred to relationships between whites and people of color. Because of...

·         Marriage, Interracial

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2008

From World History in Context

Marriage is an important social institution. In every society, family values and social norms are in place to proscribe appropriate behavior regarding mate selection. Mate selection follows the pattern of like marries...

·         Historical Approaches to Slavery: United States

Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery, 1998

From World History in Context

Even before the American Civil War, histories of slavery appeared as part of the debate over the institution. Most of the early histories in the United States were by proslavery writers. The most comprehensive was Thomas...

Case Overview

·         Loving v. Virginia

Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources, 2006

From World History in Context

By: U.S. Supreme Court Date: June 12, 1967 Source: Loving v. Virginia. 388 US 1 (1967) About the Author: The Supreme Court of the United States is the nation's highest court of appeals and final arbiter of the...

·         Brown v. Board of Education

Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources, 2006

From World History in Context

By: U.S. Supreme Court Date: May 17, 1954 Source: Brown v. Board of Education. United States Supreme Court, 347 U.S. 483, May 17, 1954. About the Author: The U.S. Supreme Court is the highest judicial body in the United...

Biography

Biography in Context

Includes full text. Biography in Context includes full text articles on more than 528,000 individuals from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. (http://tinyurl.com/mqd78yt)

Books & Authors

Includes full text. Books & Authors enables searching for a vast array of information about plot summaries, author information, award lists and much more. The information provided comes from a wide array of sources. (http://tinyurl.com/k88na7u)

History

  • America: History and Life with Full Text
  • Civil War: a Newspaper Perspective
  • Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
    Includes full text. This collection of newspapers contains about 15 newspapers, including many of the most important papers published in the U.S. Titles include the Washington Post, L.A. Times, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, Atlanta Constitution, and many more.
  • History Reference Center
    Includes full text. History Reference Center offers over 1600 reference books as well as periodicals, images, videos and much more. It is an excellent starting point for research into any historical topic.
  • Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR offers full-text on-line access to back issues of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Issues are entered on-line after having been published for 2-5 years. The entire printed matter of the journal as published is included, and coverage for most titles begins with their starting issues.
  • Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
    Includes full text. This collection covers the years 1700 to 1950. Sources include diaries and journals, narratives of explorers, military documents, Native American history and much more. Over 42,000 images are included.
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
    Includes full text. One of the oldest African-American newspapers in the country, this paper is published for the African-American community in New York City.
  • New York Times Historical Newspaper
  • Social Sciences Full Text with Retrospective (1907 - Present)
    Social Sciences Full Text with Retrospective is a Wilson database that indexes and abstracts articles from over 600 social sciences journals. Subject include addiction studies, anthropology, health & medical care, communications, corrections, criminal justice, economics ethics, family studies, gender studies, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology and urban studies.
  • U.S. History in Context