The Blackwell dictionary of political science : a user's guide to its terms by 
Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by 
Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right by
Although the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2). Topics Covered Countries/Regions: Leftist Politics Countries/Regions: Rightist Politics Leftist "Isms" Leftist Laws Leftist Political Issues Leftist Political Movements Leftist Political Parties People on the Left People on the Right Rightist "Isms" Rightist Laws Rightist Political Issues Rightist Political Movements Rightist Political Parties
The encyclopedia of the Republican Party ; The encyclopedia of the Democratic Party by 
Know your county Spartanburg : a guide to Spartanburg County government by 
Political Theories for Students by
Designed specifically for high school students, "Political Theories for Students provides in-depth information on major political theories and systems from all time periods. Each entry begins with a general overview of the system/theory followed by a discussion of the principal aspects of the theory, the theory's philosophy and an analysis of the historical context in which the theory was developed, including critical response.
The Public Administration Dictionary by The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth Century Political Thinkers by
The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers aims to introduce readers to important contemporary thinkers, and through them provide an informed guide to the ideas that have influenced political activity and thought in the 20th century. Recognizing that the majority of people tend to associate an individual with a particular idea or movement, the editors have deliberately chosen a biographical structure. Each entry includes a brief bibliography, an outline of major ideas and suggestions for further reading. The difficult and sensitive question of selection has been decided on a theorists and practitioners basis, sub-divided into three basic categories: those who are actively involved in politics, those whose reflections have influenced political movements and activity; and those whose theoretical writings have enhanced our understanding. The length of entry - ranging from a short biographical note to entries of 1000 words or more - is in rough proportion to the influence the thinker has had on the political development of this century.
The State and Local Government Political Dictionary by Search Locations and Services (links located at the bottom of the box)
The following PDF document explains in more detail how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Search catalog: Search Strategies
Finding Reference Books in the Search catalog
