Skip to main content

EDSC U441 - Middle School Curriculum and Methodology - Dr. Lee: Finding Full Text

EDSC U441 Course Guide

Introduction

Full Text Finder can be used to determine whether or not our library has access to a particular article. 

Why The Need?

Our library subscribes to hundreds of databases from a variety of companies. These databases don't always link well with one another. If a particular database you are searching returns only the description or abstract (but not full text) of an article, it may seem like the full text is not available. In reality, the full text might be found in another database we get from another company. Full Text Finder is a way to link you to the entire article when possible, even when the first database may show no full text, this is called a link resolver. 

There are three primary ways to access the product: 

1. In the database you are using (if it shows up as an option see below for example)

2. From our FULL TEXT FINDER link on the Library Resources Page

3. Through any links or widgets provided in your course LibGuides

Finding Full Text

If you have the citation (author, title, title of the journal, page number, etc) for an article and want to get a copy of the full text for it follow these steps:

  1. Search for the article in Full Text Finder, by entering the TITLE of the journal in which the article appears.  If it is available in a database that the Upstate Library subscribes to, you will see the result listed.  
  2. If the article is NOT in Full Text Finder it may be available in print (on our shelves) but not electronic form, you can search the Upstate Library Catalog to see if the article is available here on campus.
  3. Google Scholar may be another way to locate the full text of an article. Google Scholar is NOT Google, while Google searches the entire public Web, Google Scholar searches a smaller portion of the Web, similar to searching in the Library's catalog and databases.  Remember it is not exactly the same as a Library Database, many articles may have links to the Library Databases (if your library is linked in your Google Scholar settings) but it will NOT be all of the same materials.
  4. Last but not least if the article is not available in either electronic in a database via Full Text Finder or print form through the Upstate Library Catalog, or in Google Scholar you may request a copy of it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  This may take up to three weeks for the article to arrive, so plan ahead.

Using Full Text Finder From a Database

Once you type your search term(s) into a given database, you'll pull up a list of results. The below example comes from searching "dogs" in Academic Search Complete. Notice that articles with full text contain a PDF link beneath the article title/description (see square). Articles that don't contain full text will have a link to Full Text Finder, where available (see circle). Ignore the “Check Journal Finder” link, as that will soon be going away. If the article gives you the option of clicking Full Text Finder, then that link will take you to other locations where the article may be found. If the article is, in fact, not available in any of our resources, then you will receive instructions on how to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Full text finder from a database showing PDF HTML and Full Text Finder Link

Searching Full Text Finder

Videos

For more detailed information about Full Text Finder the following video was created by EBSCO the creators of the took they call Publication Finder we call Full Text Finder.