The tabs on this page are grouped into general Social Studies topics and include just a few representative titles in each area. The books are from USC Upstate Juvenile Collection (including a few ebooks).
All the Way to the Top
by
Choosing Brave
by
Equality's Call
by
Fighting for YES!
by
Finish the Fight!
by
Hispanic Star en Español: Sylvia Rivera
by
Malala: Activist for Girls' Education
by
Paul Robeson
by
Red Bird Sings
by
We Are Still Here!
by
Revolution in Our Time: the Black Panther Party's Promise to the People
by
Borders
by
Borders is a masterfully told story of a boy and his mother whose road trip from Alberta to Salt Lake City is thwarted at the border when they identify their citizenship as Blackfoot. Refusing to identify as either American or Canadian first bars their entry into the US, and then their return into Canada. In the limbo between countries, they find power in their connection to their identity and to each other. This much-anthologized story has been adapted into a gripping graphic novel by award-winning artist Natasha Donovan. A beautifully told tale with broad appeal, Borders resonates deeply with themes of identity, justice, and belonging.
The Empty Pot
by
The Empty Pot is Demi's beloved picture book about an honest schoolboy A long time ago in China there was a boy named Ping who loved flowers. Anything he planted burst into bloom. The Emperor loved flowers too. When it was time to choose an heir, he gave a flower seed to each child in the kingdom. "Whoever can show me their best in a year's time," he proclaimed, "shall succeed me to the throne!" Ping plants his seed and tends it every day. But month after month passes, and nothing grows. When spring comes, Ping must go to the Emperor with nothing but an empty pot. Demi's exquisite art and beautifully simple text show how Ping's embarrassing failure is turned triumphant in this satisfying tale of honesty rewarded. An IRA-CBC Children's Choice. An American Bookseller "Pick of the Lists."
I Pledge Allegiance
by
Libby's great aunt, Lobo, is from Mexico, but the United States has been her home for many years, and she wants to become a U.S. citizen. At the end of the week, Lobo will say the Pledge of Allegiance at a special ceremony. Libby is also learning the Pledge this week, at school--at the end of the week, she will stand up in front of everyone and lead the class in the Pledge. Libby and Lobo practice together--asking questions and sharing stories and memories--until they both stand tall and proud, with their hands over their hearts.
Right to Vote
by
American democracy owes much to the rights guaranteed to individuals in the U.S. Constitution and specifically in its first 10 amendments, known as the Bill of Rights. Each book in the new six-volume American Rights set provides the history of a specific right or rights, from the right to vote to the right to bear arms. The volumes begin with brief colonial history, discussing the war fought by American Revolutionaries to gain independence from Great Britain - and their opportunity to decide what rights every American should possess. Coverage also includes later and ongoing struggles by groups such as women and people of color to gain these rights - both in law and in practice. Students will learn to appreciate the value of these rights by reading of the battles fought to secure them and, in some cases, by learning of their relative rarity around the world. Graphs, maps, photographs, and box features enhance the lively and accessible narrative, calling out important details and bringing this exciting material to life. Providing a wealth of information, American Rights is a thought-provoking, must-have set perfect for the young readers of today.
Ruth Bader Ginsburg
by
Unraveling Freedom
by
The Voice of the People
by
Baby Goes to Market
by
Earning Money
by
Estela's Swap
by
Lily Learns about Wants and Needs
by
Market Maze
by
Prices! Prices! Prices!
by
Money Madness
by
Mommies at Work
by
The Irish-Americans
by
This series of sixteen titles depicts in both text and pictures the unique challenges that faced many of our various ethnic groups as they came to the New World. Each volume is indexed and contains a bibliography featuring books and Web sources for further information.
W Is for Welcome
by
2018 Eureka! California Reading Association Honor Book AwardFollowing the alphabet this book uses poetry and expository text to celebrate America's diverse population and showcase the remarkable achievements and contributions that have come from the many people who have chosen to make our country their home. Topics include well-known landmarks and institutions (the Statue of Liberty and the White House, our national parks system) and famous citizens whose talents helped make the United States a world leader (Albert Einstein and Madeleine Albright). In addition to celebrating America's history and development, key concepts such as naturalization and steps to citizenship are explained in easy-to-understand terms for the young reader.
Dreamers
by
We are resilience. We are hope. We are dreamers. Yuyi Morales brought her hopes, her passion, her strength, and her stories with her, when she came to the United States in 1994 with her infant son. She left behind nearly everything she owned, but she didn't come empty-handed. From the author-illustrator of Bright Star, Dreamersis a celebration of making your home with the things you always carry- your resilience, your dreams, your hopes and history. It's the story of finding your way in a new place, of navigating an unfamiliar world and finding the best parts of it. In dark times, it's a promise that you can make better tomorrows. This lovingly-illustrated picture book memoir looks at the myriad gifts migrantes bring with them when they leave their homes. It's a story about family. And it's a story to remind us that we are all dreamers, bringing our own strengths wherever we roam. Beautiful and powerful at any time but given particular urgency as the status of our own Dreamers becomes uncertain, this is a story that is both topical and timeless. The lyrical text is complemented by sumptuously detailed illustrations, rich in symbolism. Also included are a brief autobiographical essay about Yuyi's own experience, a list of books that inspired her (and still do), and a description of the beautiful images, textures, and mementos she used to create this book. A parallel Spanish-language edition, Sonadores,is also available. Winner of the Pura Belpre Illustrator Award! A New York Times/ New York Public Library Best Illustrated Book A New York TimesBestseller Recipient of the Flora Stieglitz Strauss Award A 2019 Boston Globe - Horn Book Honor Recipient An Anna Dewdney Read Together Honor Book Named a Best Book of 2018 by Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Shelf Awareness, NPR, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, Salon.com-- and many more! A Junior Library Guild selection A Eureka! Nonfiction Honoree A Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Blue Ribbon title A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year A CLA Notable Children's Book in Language Arts Selected for the CBC Champions of Change Showcase
When Jessie Came Across the Sea
by
"Hest simply and faithfully holds a mirror to the milestone event for millions of turn-of-the-century immigrants." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) When a young girl from a poor eastern European village learns that she must leave her beloved grandmother for a new life -- and a new love -- in America, they both feel that their hearts will break. The sure and inspired narrative by award-winning author Amy Hest is paired with paintings by P.J. Lynch that glow with warmth and carefully observed detail, creating an unforgettable tribute to the immigrant experience.
My Diary from Here to There / Mi Diario de Aqui Has
by
Pura Belpré Author Award Honor - American Library Association (ALA) Bilingual English/Spanish. One night, young Amada overhears her parents whisper of moving from Mexico to the other side of the border- to Los Angeles, where greater opportunity awaits. As she and her family make their journey north, Amada records her fears, hopes, and dreams for their lives in the United States in her diary. How can she leave her best friend behind? What if she can't learn English? What if her family never returns to Mexico? From Juárez to Mexicali to Tijuana to Los Angeles, Amada learns that with her family's love and her belief in herself, she can make any journey and weather any change--here, there, anywhere.
Cambodia
by
This outstanding series provides concise and lively introductions to countries and the major development issues they face. Packed full of factual information, photographs and maps, the guides also focus on ordinary people and the impact that historical, economic and environmental issues have on their lives.
Sweden - The Culture
by
This is a series called Lands, peoples, and Cultures it includes 6 different cultures
South America
by
Animals. American History. Earth Science. Geography. Health. Space. True Books covers all this and more in photo-filled chapter books that provide a basic introduction to curriculum-relevant topics. Ideal for today's young investigative reader, each True Book includes lively sidebars, a glossary and an index, plus a comprehensive "To Find Out More" section listing books, organizations, and Internet sites. A staple of library collections since the 1950s, and redesigned with a fresh new look in 1996, the new True Books series is the definitive nonfiction series for elementary school readers.
Celebrate! In Central America
by
Describes the background and customs associated with some of the festivals of Central America.
Ancient China
by
Borders
by
Borders is a masterfully told story of a boy and his mother whose road trip from Alberta to Salt Lake City is thwarted at the border when they identify their citizenship as Blackfoot. Refusing to identify as either American or Canadian first bars their entry into the US, and then their return into Canada. In the limbo between countries, they find power in their connection to their identity and to each other. This much-anthologized story has been adapted into a gripping graphic novel by award-winning artist Natasha Donovan. A beautifully told tale with broad appeal, Borders resonates deeply with themes of identity, justice, and belonging.
All the Water in the World
by
One Plastic Bag
by
Other Words for Home
by
Wangari's Trees of Peace
by
Wangari Maathai
by
My Friend Suhana
by
Not So Different
by
When Aidan Became a Brother
by
Drum Dream Girl
by
Bowwow Powwow
by
Jingle Dancer
by
Growing Season
by
Books can address topics like bullying, friendship, and conflict resolution, helping children understand social interactions.
Books can delve into themes of self-discovery, personal growth, and understanding one's place in the world.
Confessions of a Former Bully
by
After Katie gets caught teasing a schoolmate, she's told to meet with Mrs. Petrowski, the school counselor, so she can make right her wrong and learn to be a better friend. Bothered at first, it doesn't take long before Katie realizes that bullying has hurt not only the people around her, but her, too. Told from the unusual point of view of the bullier rather than the bullied, Confessions of a Former Bully provides kids with real life tools they can use to identify and stop relational aggression. From the Hardcover edition.
Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon
by
The Lady in the Box
by
Still This Love Goes On
by
The Bathing Costume
by
The 1619 Project: Born on the Water
by
An American Story (Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner)
by
Brother Eagle, Sister Sky
by
A Flag for Juneteenth
by
Gingerbread for Liberty!
by
Sharuko: el Arqueólogo Peruano Julio C. Tello / Peruvian Archaeologist Julio C. Tello (Spanish and English Edition)
by
A Stone Sat Still
by
They All Saw a Cat
by
Town Is by the Sea
by
The Christmas Menorahs
by
Each Kindness
by
Going Places: Victor Hugo Green and His Glorious Book
by
Indigenous Peoples' Day
by
Our Class Is a Country
by
Undocumented
by
We Still Belong
by
Finding Lincoln
by
Honor Book, 2010 Horace Mann Upstanders Book Awards A 2010 Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People 2010 Paterson Prize for Books for Young People, Grades Pre K-3 A 2010 Skipping Stones Honor Award Winner 2009 NAPPA Gold Winner 2011-2012 Show Me Readers Award Nominee List (Missouri) Louis needs to write an essay for school about young Abraham Lincoln. But it's 1951 in Alabama, and African Americans cannot use the public library. Mama says one day soon they'll be able to check out books, but Louis isn't going to wait! When he makes a brave journey into the "whites-only" library, something surprising and wonderful happens - he meets a brave young librarian. Ann Malaspina's moving story and Colin Bootman's rich paintings evoke the troubles and triumphs of days not long past. Includes a note on the history of racial segregation in public libraries, a brief history of Abraham Lincoln's life, and an "If You Want to Read More" listing.
Going North
by
An African American family becomes a new kind of pioneer Leaving behind Big Mama, loving relatives, and the familiar red soil and cotton fields of Alabama, Jessie and her family are going north to Nebraska. They are pioneers searching for a better life, one with decent schools and jobs. But traveling through the segregated South is difficult for an African American family in the 1960s. With most public places reserved for "whites only," where will they stop to get gas and food? Lyrical free verse and evocative paintings capture the rhythm of the road and a young girl's longing as she wonders: Will I like it there? Will I like the North?
The Civil Rights Act of 1964
by
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 changed American society in profound ways. For instance, the bill ended much racial segregation, which had existed for decades in the daily lives of Americans. This collection captures a spectrum of views, from then and now, concerning the act's historical journey and contemporary legacy.
The Power of One
by
The life of civil rights leader Daisy Bates is vividly detailed in this stirring new biography by an acclaimed husband-wife team. Throughout her life, Daisy Bates worked tirelessly for civil rights as an activist, journalist, and organizer. She first captured national attention as the mentor of the nine black students who integrated Central High School in Little Rock in 1957. During this crisis President Dwight Eisenhower was forced to use federal troops to insure the admission of the students, who became known as the Little Rock Nine. In 1999, just hours after her funeral, President Bill Clinton bestowed the Congressional Gold Medal on the Little Rock Nine, and two years later Daisy Bates was honored by a state holiday in Arkansas. In this noteworthy companion to their other distinguished biographies of African Americans, Dennis and Judith Fradin have drawn upon a trove of archival material including papers, correspondence, and photographs of her life and work. They also interviewed some of her living relatives and members of the Little Rock Nine. The result is a compelling, inspiring book about the courage and determination of one woman in the face of prejudice and intolerance. Endnotes, bibliography, index.
Poison Spring
by
"That was the year we had no food.It's the spring of 1864, and times are hard in Washington County, Arkansas, especially for thirteen-year-old Travis Ford. He hasn't heard from his father, a sergeant in the 2nd Arkansas Cavalry, in months. His mother is struggling to make ends meet on the family farm and abandoned sawmill near Poison Spring. All Travis really wants to do is to follow his passion -- make up adventure stories in the style of Alexandre Dumas. But the Civil War keeps getting in his way. Since his mother hails from Illinois and has Abolitionist leanings, the Ford family -- including Travis's twin sister, Edith, and their seven-year-old brother, Baby Hugh -- has few friends to turn to for help, only eccentric Miss Mary Frederick, who owns a cotton plantation down the road, and Uncle Willard Ford, a slave trader in nearby Camden. For the most part, Anna Louella Ford and her children find themselves alone, and they are about to become even more isolated.
Women of the Frontier
by
An Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People Using journal entries, letters home, and song lyrics, the women of the West speak for themselves in these tales of courage, enduring spirit, and adventure. Women such as Amelia Stewart Knight traveling on the Oregon Trail, homesteader Miriam Colt, entrepreneur Clara Brown, army wife Frances Grummond, actress Adah Isaacs Menken, naturalist Martha Maxwell, missionary Narcissa Whitman, and political activist Mary Lease are introduced to readers through their harrowing stories of journeying across the plains and mountains to unknown land. Recounting the impact pioneers had on those who were already living in the region as well as how they adapted to their new lives and the rugged, often dangerous landscape, this exploration also offers resources for further study and reveals how these influential women tamed the Wild West.
Rudy Rides the Rails
by
In 1932, Akron, Ohio was no better off than other parts of the country. Since Black Tuesday in '29, companies are closed, men all over the state are out of work, and families are running out of hope. Thirteen-year-old Rudy wants to help but doesn't know where to turn. His father, sullen and withdrawn, spends his time sulking on their front porch. His mother is desperate, not knowing how she will feed and care for her family. When Rudy learns of other boys leaving town and heading west to seek their fortunes, he hops a train figuring at least there will be one less mouth to feed at home. As Rudy lives the hobo life while he "rides the rails" to California, young readers are given a snapshot view and testament of Depression-era America.Writer Dandi Daley Mackall met the real "Ramblin' Rudy" in 2000 and was inspired to capture his story and the spirit of adventure shown by many during the Great Depression. She conducts writing workshops across the United States and speaks at numerous conferences. Dandi lives in West Salem, Ohio. Rudy Rides the Rails is Chris Ellison's second book with Sleeping Bear Press. He also illustrated Let Them Play, which was named to the 2006 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People list. Chris is presently working on another Tales of Young Americans story about the Oklahoma Land Run. He lives in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.
Gold Rush Dogs
by
Dog lovers and history buffs will delight in this collection celebrating the beloved canines that offered companionship, protection, and hard work to their masters in the Far North.
Hiroshima No Pika
by
August 6, 1945, 8:15 a.m. Hiroshima. In Japan A little girl and her parents are eating breakfast, and then it happened. HIROSHIMA NO PIKA. This book is dedicated to the fervent hope that the Flash will never happen again, anywhere.
Sadako
by
Hospitalized with the dreaded atom bomb disease, leukemia, a child in Hiroshima races against time to fold 1,000 paper cranes. A picture book with illustrations by Ed Young
The Secret Project
by
Mother-son team Jonah and Jeanette Winter bring to life one of the most secretive scientific projects in history--the creation of the atomic bomb--in this "astonishing...beautifully told" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) picture book. At a former boy's school in the remote desert of New Mexico, the world's greatest scientists have gathered to work on the "Gadget," an invention so dangerous and classified they cannot even call it by its real name. They work hard, surrounded by top security and sworn to secrecy, until finally they take their creation far out into the desert to test it, and afterward the world will never be the same.
My Hiroshima
by
Poison in the Colony
by
After the colony of James Town is founded in 1607. After Captain John Smith establishes trade with the Native Americans. After Pocahontas befriends the colonists. After early settlers both thrive and die in this new world . . . a girl is born. Virginia. Virginia Laydon, an infant at the end of Blood on the River, has now grown up in a colony that is teetering dangerously on the precipice of conflict with the native Algonquins. Virginia has the gift, or the curse, of the knowing-an ability that could help save the colony, and is equally likely to land her at the burning stake as an accused witch. Virginia struggles to make sense of her own inner world against the backdrop of pivotal years in the Jamestown colony. The first representative government is established, the first enslaved Africans arrive, and the self-righteousness of the colony's leaders angers the Algonquin. When Virginia's mother first learns of her gift, she is terrified. Kill it, her mother says, or they will kill you. When accusations and danger threaten, Virginia learns that she is on her own; her mother must protect her young sisters rather than stand up for her. So begins a journey of self-realization and increasing strength, as Virginia goes from being a self-protective young girl to someone who knows she must live her own truth even if it will be the end of her.
The Corn Raid
by
Bring history to life with compelling stories,sweeping scope, and a welcoming sense of diversity Historical fiction helps students connect to their middle schoolsocial studies classes Reading skill instruction and cross-curricular connections improvecomprehension of historical fiction Strong multicultural flavor reflects the rich tapestry of our sharedAmerican heritages Jamestown's American Portraits, a saga of American families and friends,traces the history of America from the founding of Jamestown to the CivilRights Movement. This is a unique, enriching series designed to teachreading strategies appropriate for historical novels used in middle schoolreading, language arts, or social studies classes. Reading Level 5-8 Interest Level 6-8
Why Did English Settlers Come to Virginia?
by
In December 1606, three ships carrying 105 men and boys set sail from Dover, England. The ships headed for the eastern shores of North America. There the men planned to establish a new colony known as Virginia. Sailing into the Chesapeake Bay, the settlers excitedly observed a vast wilderness of thick grasses, green forests, and wide rivers. But as the newcomers built their settlement, they struggled with disagreements, hard labor, food shortages, illness, and uneasy relations with the region's Native Americans. Yet the settlers persevered and established Jamestown--the first permanent English colony in North America. So what was the Virginia Company? Why did settler John Smith spend most of the voyage from England under arrest? Who was Pocahontas? Discover the facts about the Jamestown settlement and learn about its place in early U.S. history.
The True Story of Pocahontas
by
For the first time, the true story of Pocahontas is revealed by her own people.
