Skip to main content

Pre-Optometry: General Reference Sources

This guide is for students interested in optometry as a career.

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia. REF RC81 .A2 A497 2003.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion. REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference.

Dictionaries

The American Heritage Stedman’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .A53 2002.

Black’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .B598 41st ed. 2006.

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations. REF R123 .J24 2001.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. REF R121 .M65 2003.

Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R121 .D76 2002.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions. REF R 121 .M89 2009.

Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate (2009) and University Center at Greenville Reference (2005). REF R121 .T18

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Reference Sources

Health Statistics

Health Care State Rankings:  Health Care in the United States, 13th ed. – REF RA 407.3 .H423 2005.  

Health , United States – REF RA 407.3 .U57a. 

Statistical Record of Health and Medicine – REF RA 407.3 .S78 1995.  Useful for historical statistics.

Optometry Videos

What Can Baby See?: Vision Tests and Interventions for Infants with Multiple Disabilities RE48.2 .C5 W43 1997e.

Vision Tests for Infants RE48.2 .C5 V47 1997e.

Specialized Reference Sources

Anaesthesia for Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat Surgery RF52 .A48.

The Atlas of Ophthalmology RE71 .G65 2002.

The Lighthouse Handbook on Vision Impairment and Vision Rehabilitation REF RE91 .L43 2000.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Databases

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

OAT Resources

USC Upstate Library Book: OAT: Complete Preparation for the Optometry Admission Test - RE959.5 .O26.

Online Resources

Atlas of Ophthalmology  

The Atlas of Ophthalmology is a public online database, free of charge, edited by specialists in the field.

Diagram of the Eye  

Basic ocular anatomy from the National Eye Institute.

Digital Reference of Ophthalmology  

Oculoplastics, cornea and external diseases, glaucoma, lens and cataract, vitreous and retina, neuroophthalmology, pediatric, etc.

Eyerounds.org  

Searchable database with case studies and images available by query.

The Eyes Have It  

Teaching and assessment modes, along with galleries of photos.

National Eye Institute
The National Eye Institute (NEI) was established by Congress in 1968 to protect and prolong the vision of the American people.

National Eye Institute: Photos, Images, and Videos

Neuro-Ophthalmology Virtual Education Library  

A web accessible collection of images, video, lectures and other digital media for use by neuro-ophthalmology professionals, educators, students and patients.

Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy (Bassett Collection)  

Contains over 1500 images of the human body, with labels in Latin and English. 45 of them are eye-related.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button