Skip to main content

Pre-Engineering: General Reference Sources

This guide is for students interested in pursuing an engineering career.

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats. REF NA 200 .L32 2001

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia. REF Q 121 .V3 2008. Volumes 1-3 available.

Dictionaries

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists- REF TA139 .B56 1986.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering- eBook.

Handbooks and Manuals

The Computer Science and Engineering Handbook. REF QA76 .C57315 1997.

McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion- eBook

Newnes Engineering and Physical Science Pocket Book. REF TA151 .B47 1993.

The Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Professional Engineer. REF TA151 .H424 1998.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Sources

Career Resources

Enhancing the Community College Pathway to Engineering Careers- eBook

Ethics

Ethics in Engineering Practice and Research- TA157 .W47 1998.

Social, Ethical, and Policy Implications of Engineering: Selected Readings. TA157 .S628 2000.

Specialized Sources

Buckminster Fuller's Universe: An Appreciation- T49.5 S575 1989.

The Engineer of 2020 Visions of Engineering in the New Century- eBook.

Genius talk : conversations with Nobel scientists and other luminaries-Q141 .B817 1995.

Magill's Survey of Science- TA145 .M298 1993. There are 3 volumes available.

Nanotalk Conversations with Scientists and Engineers About Ethics, Meaning, and Belief in the Development of Nanotechnology-
eBook.

Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments- eBook.

To light such a candle : chapters in the history of science and technology-Q125 .L25 1998.

 

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

Professional Associations

American Society for Engineering Education

American Society of Mechanical Engineers    

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)    

National Society of Professional Engineers - NSPE is the only engineering society that represents individual engineering professionals and licensed engineers (PEs) across all disciplines.

Society of Manufacturing Engineers  

Society of Women Engineers

GRE Resources

GRE. REF LB 2367.4 .D85 2007.

Nova's GRE prep course. eBook- 2004.

Engineering Schools

The ABET or Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, has a search option for accredited Engineering programs.

America's best graduate schools from the U.S. News & World Report.

Career Information

Enhancing the Community College Pathway to Engineering Careers- eBook

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Engineers - Prospects for careers in engineering. It includes information on training, working conditions, earnings and more.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Websites

Ethics

NSPE Engineering Ethics- Includes the Code of Ethics, case studies, educational resources, FAQs, and links to other ethics sites.

Online Ethics Center at the National Academy of Engineering- Case studies, guidelines, regulations, teaching ideas.  Covers education, safety & the environment, professional practice, employment & legal issues, research, technology.

Patents

European Patent Office. International patents issued by more than 70 countries. Search by author, title, or abstract words.

Free Patents Online. Besides providing the ability to search U.S., European, and Japanese patents, Free Patents Online has RSS feeds on close to a hundred different topics.

Google Patent Search. Covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. Search the full text, or search by criteria such as patent number, inventor, and filing date.

United States Patent & Trademark Office, Patent Database (USPTO). Provides indexing, search capabilities and full-text of U.S patents since 1790. Searchable by patent number and classification number.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button