Skip to main content

Pre-Dental: General Reference Sources

This guide is for students interested in pursuing a career in dentistry.

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries

Dental Health: A Medical Dictionary, Bibliography and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References - eBook 2003.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. REF R121 .M65 2003.

Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R121 .D76 2002.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions. REF R 121 .M89 2009.

Oxford Handbook of Dental Patient Care - eBook 2005.

Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate (2009) and University Center at Greenville Reference (2005). REF R121 .T18.

Specialized Reference Sources

Barron's Guide to Medical and Dental Schools - REF R 735 .A4 B37 12th ed. 2009

Bleaching Techniques in Restorative Dentistry: An Illustrated Guide - eBook 2003

Safety Standards and Infection Control for Dental Assistants - eBook 2002

Career Resources

Barron's DAT, Dental Admission Test - REF RK 76 .L44 2009

Career as a Dentist: Increasing Demand Reported for These High Prestige, High Earning Healthcare Professionals - eBook 2006

Opportunities in Dental Care Careers - RK 60 .K44 2006

Preparing for Dental Practice - eBook 2004

Blogs and Podcasts

Blogs

Podcasts from Feedburner

Dental Safety

OSHA provides information about dental safety.

Dental Schools

The American Dental Association lists all of the accredited dental education programs in the US. 

Dental Career Information

Dental Assistants (Bureau of Labor Statistics)  

Information on dental assisting as a career is provided including working conditions, job outlook, and earnings.

Dental Hygienists (Bureau of Labor Statistics)  

Information on dental hygienist as a career is provided including working conditions, job outlook, and earnings.

Online Resources

MedlinePlus  

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, this resource covers over 700 diseases and conditions. Includes directories of doctors and dentists as well as a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.

-          Child Dental Health

-          Dental Health

-          Gum Disease

Oral Cancer Foundation  

Provides information on the diagnosis and treatment of oral cancer and the roll the dental profession in detecting various forms of cancer.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Oral Health Resources  

Provides information on a variety of topics dealing with oral health, includes guidelines and recommendations and state reports.

Health Resources and Services Administration’s HIPAA Web Site  

Provides government regulations and resources.

MerckSource Resource Library  

Includes A.D.A.M. Encyclopedia, virtual body tours, and the Merck manual.

Animated Teeth  

Explanations and animations about dental topics and procedures

Dental articles.com  

This website has a video link with many clips on different procedures.

Career Resources

Specialized Reference Sources

Articles