Skip to main content

Pre-Chiropractic: General Reference Sources

This guide provides information for students interested in a chiropractic career.

General Reference Sources

Specialized Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd ed. – REF QH 332 .E52 2004 vols. 1-5. 

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion – REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003

Evidence Based Practice Manual:  Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services – R 728 .E94 2004

Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Health & Society, 6th ed – REF RA 776.9 .T35 2004.

Chiropractic Schools

List of American Chiropractic Association accredited U.S. chiropractic schools.

Dictionaries

The American Heritage Stedman’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .A53 2002.

Black’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .B598 41st ed. 2006.

The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine. REF R121 .O884 2001. eBook 2001.

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations. REF R123 .J24 2001.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. REF R121 .M65 2003.

Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R121 .D76 2002.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions. REF R 121 .M89 2009.

Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate (2009) and University Center at Greenville Reference (2005). REF R121 .T18

Encyclopedias

American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia. REF RC81 .A2 A497 2003.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior. REF R726.5 .E53 2004. Volumes 1-2 available.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion. REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference.

Encyclopedia of the Human Body. REF QM7 .E53 2002.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. REF R733 .G34 2009. Volumes 1-4 available.

Health Statistics

Health Care State Rankings:  Health Care in the United States, 13th ed. – REF RA 407.3 .H423 2008.

Health, United States – REF RA 407.3 .U57a.

Statistical Record of Health and Medicine – REF RA 407.3 .S78 1995. Useful for historical statistics.

History

Chiropractic in America: The History of a Medical Alternative - RZ225 .U6 M66 1993

Databases

Specialized Reference Sources

Articles

Career Resources