Skip to main content

Welcome to Distance Education

Here you will find information about the USC Upstate Library's resources and services for USC Upstate students enrolled in all modes of distance education. These courses may be:

  • at the University Center Greenville
  • by the USC Upstate School of Education/USC Sumter education program
  • the Mary Black School of Nursing RN to BSN Program
  • web-based courses offered on the Internet
  • "dual enrollment" courses offered at local high schools

Library Resources

It is necessary for you to acquire a USC Upstate username and password and a Carolina One ID card in order to access all the resources listed below. 

  • A USC Upstate username and password is required for access to electronic databases, electronic reserves and on-campus network access.
  • The Carolina One ID Card has a barcode that is required for library material check out, use of PASCAL Delivers and USC Upstate Interlibrary Loan materials. Renewal of materials also requires this barcode number.

Go to Information Technology and Data Services (IT) for username and password information. Carolina One USC Upstate ID cards are made at the University Public Safety department on the USC Upstate Campus and the Upstate administrative offices at UCG (with a three to four day wait for an active card).

Books:

  • PASCAL Delivers - All books can be ordered through PASCAL Delivers, whether part of the USC Upstate Library or part of PASCAL member libraries. Delivery of these books can be designated to any PASCAL member library listed as a PICK UP LOCATION. Note: the University Center of Greenville's Library is a Pick up location.  Books usually arrive at the destination library within three to five business days. PASCAL Delivers buttonPlease note that when you search the USC Upstate Library catalog and your search finds no holdings, you may click the blue and green PASCAL button and the search will be conducted in the PASCAL database of SC academic libraries.
  • Renewal of USC Upstate Books - Two 3-week renewals are allowed. Place your request BEFORE the due date. From the USC Upstate Library catalog, click "My Account." Enter your name and the number on the back of your Carolina One USC Upstate ID card.  Follow the directions for renewing items.
  • Renewal of PASCAL Books - One 3-week renewal is allowed. Place your request during the five (5) days before the due date. These are also renewed through "My Account."

Articles:

  • Databases - Locate articles from journals, magazines and newspapers on a particular subject. Many databases include the full transcript and/or scanned image of articles. Look at the description of the databases to see whether it contains full text. Your USC Upstate username and password are required to access subscription databases.
  • Periodical Holdings - Search the library's holdings of print and electronic periodicals via Full Text Finder, which contains a listing of journals, magazines and newspapers subscribed to by the USC Upstate Library. For delivery, see "Library Services" below. To request an article from a periodical owned by the USC Upstate Library that is not available electronically, use the Distance Education Materials Request Form.

Library Services

  • Distance Education Materials Request Form - This is for delivery of copies of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles and DVDs OWNED by the USC Upstate Library.  
  • Interlibrary Loan - This form is for books and copies of articles NOT available from USC Upstate and NOT available through PASCAL Delivers.  Materials usually arrive within two weeks.
  • Ask a Librarian - Contact the USC Upstate Reference Librarians.
  • Course Reserves - Course Reserves are listed in four categories by Faculty who placed item on reserve, Course, Department and E Reserves (blackboard).
  • Spartan GreenSky - Spartan GreenSky (software that you will have to download and install) is an initiative of USC Upstate to provide anywhere, anytime access to USC Upstate email, files and course-required software for all students, faculty and staff. Included in these services are email, cloud storage and virtual computer access.
  • Information Technologies and Services - This link will take you to the University's IT page.
  • Visiting Patron - If you’re able to use PASCAL Delivers, you can also go in-person to visit another PASCAL Delivers library and check out the book yourself using the Visiting Patron service. Note that Visiting Patron checkouts have different limits from PASCAL Delivers patrons; in-person patrons are limited to three items and the checkout period for these items is three weeks with one additional three week renewal allowed. View the FAQ list to learn how this process works.  A list of participating libraries and information about each library.

Information for Faculty

  • Scan & Deliver (available to faculty only) - Use this form to request an article or book chapter owned by the library be scanned and delivered to you via email.
  • ‚ÄčLibrary Instruction  Request a class, or custom LibGuide for your class

Library Faculty

James LaMee<br> <!--18-->Coord. Library Svcs for Distance Learning's picture
James LaMee
Coord. Library Svcs for Distance Learning
Contact:
864-503-5991
jlamee@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 266


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Library Faculty

Andrew Kearns<br> <!--07-->Associate Dean Library, Greenville Campus's picture
Andrew Kearns
Associate Dean Library, Greenville Campus
Contact:
(864) -503-5403
akearns@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 105


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: (864) 503-5620