Skip to main content

HIST U300 - Introduction to Historical Studies: Getting Started

Helpful Links

Other Useful Library Guides at USC Upstate

Welcome!

This library guide has been created to provide a "one-stop shop" of helpful information and resources to use during this course.  Every effort has been made to try to anticipate what might be needed, but if you find anything missing that you think would be helpful in your research, please don't hesitate to contact me...chances are, if you need the information, your classmates probably do as well!  It's easy for me to edit this guide, so don't be shy. 

You can reach me using my contact information shown in the box to the right.  If you need more immediate assistance, you can use the library's Ask-a-Librarian chat service, available 24/7.  Finally, you can always come to the library's reference desk during regular library hours, and the reference librarian on duty is available to help you...we love to talk to students, so don't be shy!   

Key Concepts for Historical Research

Quality historical research will utilize primary and secondary sources within our collection as well as articles from electronic databases and items housed in collections found throughout South Carolina and the United States.

Formats for these materials will include printed books, journal articles (both print and online), primary sources, microfilm and more.

The locations of the resources that will be utilized include the USC Upstate Library, USC Columbia campus, regional repositories, nationwide libraries, electronic databases and reputable Internet sources.

For more advanced research, sometimes it is useful to limit internet searches to primary source material only.  These are often found in government and academic sites (which generally include libraries, as well).  Consider limiting your search to .edu and .gov websites.

Library Faculty

Ann Merryman <br>Coordinator of Archives and Special Collection's picture
Ann Merryman
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collection
Contact:
864-503-5275
amerryman@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 273


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620