Skip to main content

HIST U105 - US History to 1877 - Dr. Paul Grady: Getting Started

This guide provides a basic introduction to reference sources and how to find them using the library's online catalog. It also covers databases that provide information on topics pertaining to history.

Useful Links

Other Helpful Library Guides

USC Upstate librarians have created several Library Guides to help educate you about plagiarism and how to avoid it, and how to properly cite the work of others in your papers and projects.  Please visit the links below to learn more about how to properly cite and credit your work.

History 105 Guide

The purpose of this guide is to introduce you to basic research strategies that will enable you to quickly and efficiently locate the reference materials that you need.

Although more advanced, the use of article databases is also important for historical research.  There is an "articles" tab that displays some important resources of this type. 

Please feel free to use the USC Upstate Library Ask a Librarian service if you have any questions.

Types of Library Resources

Reference Books – This is a collection of books that must be used within the library.  These sources provide general information, including short definitions, brief essays, and concise factual information.

General Collection – These sources may be taken from the library and provide a more thorough analysis of a specific topic, such as an important person or event.

Journals – Journal articles provide the most focused study of a subject, typically addressing a very specific aspect of the topic being discussed.

Online Article Databases – These are used as a guide to locating articles that are available online as well as print journals in the library.

 

Library Faculty

Ann Merryman <br>Coordinator of Archives and Special Collection's picture
Ann Merryman
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collection
Contact:
864-503-5275
amerryman@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 273


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620