Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Basic Reference Sources

A Guide to Important Reference Sources and Online Resources Available through the USC Upstate Library.

Information for Distance Learners

Online Reference Sources

Blackwell Companion to Criminology (2004) - Available in EBSCO eBook Collection

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2nd Ed. (2002) - Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (Jennings, 2015) - Available in Wiley Online Library

Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia (2012) - Available in EBSCO eBook Collection

Using Encyclopedias in the EBSCO eBook Collection is a video explaining how to navigate encyclopedias that collection.

Dictionary of Policing (2008) -  Available in Credo Reference

Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment (2008) - Available in Credo Refernece

Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management (2007) -  Available in Credo Reference

Dictionary of Youth Justice (2008) - Available in Credo Reference

Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression (2007) - Available in Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of American Prisons (1996) - Available in EBSCO eBook Collection

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States (2008) - Available in Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity (2005) - Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, 2nd ed. (2013) -  Available in EBSCO eBook Collection

Encyclopedia of Terrorism (2013) - Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law, 2nd Ed. (2012) -  Available in Credo Reference

Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia (2016) - Available in EBSCO eBook Collection

Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery (2013) - Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Substance Abuse in America: a Documentary and Reference Guide (2012) -  Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Dictionary of Psychology, 4th Ed. (2015) - Available in Oxford Reference Online.

Dictionary of Sociology, 4th Ed. (2014) - Available in Oxford Reference Online.

Dictionary of the Social Sciences (2002) - Available in Oxford Reference Online.

Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd Ed. (2001) - Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Dictionary of Law (A&C Black) (2007) - Available in Credo Reference

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law (2003) -  Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Companion to American Law (2002) -  Available in Oxford Reference Online

West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd. Ed. (2004) -  Available in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Loading

Major Criminal Justice Reference Sources in Print

All call numbers beginning with REF are shelved in the Reference Section of the library. Available electronic editions of the sources are hyperlinked.

American Dictionary of Criminal Justice, 3rd ed. - REF HV 7411 .C48 2005

Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice, 2nd Ed. - REF HV 6017 .D38 2016

Dictionary of Crime Terms - REF HV 6017 .S54 2003b

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2nd ed. - REF HV 6017 .E52 2002, vols. 1-4.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (Levinson, 2002) - REF HV 6017 .E524 2002, vols. 1-4.

Great Pictorial History of World Crime (2004) - REF HV 6017 .G78 2004, vols. 1-2.

Historical Atlas of American Crime - REF HV 6779 .R67 2005.

Book of Assassins - REF HV 6245 .F44 2001

Cops, Crooks, and Criminologists - REF HV 7911 .A1 A94 1996

Dictionary of Culprits and Criminals, 2nd ed. - REF HV 6245 .K64 1995

Encyclopedia of Serial Killers - REF HV 6245 .N49 2000

Public Enemies. America's Criminal Past, 1919-1940 - REF HV 6783 .H395 1998

These are just a few of many subject encyclopedias in the Criminal Justice area.

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment - REF HV 8694 .G76 1998

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence - REF HV 6626 .E534 2007

Encyclopedia of Gangs - REF HV 6439 .U5 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity - REF HV 6322.7 and online in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime - REF HV 6441 .D48 2005

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice - REF HV 9104 .E58 2003

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement - REF HV 7921 .E53 2005, vols. 1-3

Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime - REF HV 6515 .E5323 2003

Encyclopedia of Police Science, 3rd ed. - REF HV 7901 .E53 2007, vols. 1-2

Encyclopedia of Rape - REF HV 6558 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention - REF HV6250.3 .U5 E55 2010, 2 vols.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar Crime - REF HV 6768 .E65 2007

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, 1st ed. - REF HV 6768 .E63 2005 vols. 1-2; 2nd ed. (2013) online in EBSCO eBook Collection

Encyclopedia of World Terrorism - REF HV 6431.E53 1997, vols. 1-3

Encyclopedia of World Terrorism, 1996-2002 - REF HV 6431 .E53 2003, vols. 1-2

Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources - REF HV6431 .T465 2006

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology, 2nd ed. - REF HM 425 .J64 2000

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science - REF BF 31 .E52 2001, vols. 1-4

Corsini Dictionary of Psychology - REF BF 31 .C72 1999

Dictionary of Sociology, 2nd ed. - REF HM 17 .C66 1998; 4th ed. available in Oxford Reference Online.

Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed. - REF HM 425 .E5 2000, and online in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Black's Dictionary of Law, 8th ed. - REF KF 156 .B53 2004

Law Dictionary for Non-Lawyers - REF KF 156 .O7 1991

Criminal Justice Information - REF HV 7419.5 .C75 1998

Criminal Justice Research Sources - REF HV 7419.5 .O35 2000

Loading

Librarian

Andrew Kearns
Coordinator of Library Instruction
Contact:
(864) -503-5403
akearns@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 105


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: (864) 503-5620

Statistics

Crime in South Carolina - 1999 through current edition available on the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division website. Library has print for 1974-1999 with some gaps. REF HV 6793 .S6 S6

Crime in the United States (Uniform Crime Reports) - 1995 through current issue available on the FBI website. Library has print for 1974-2008 (with several gaps). REF HV 6787 .A3

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Since 2003 the Sourcebook is maintained online. Library has print for 1978-2003 with some gaps. REF HV 6787 .S68

Other print resources include:

Crime State Rankings - REF HV 6787 .C75. Library has 1994 through 2011.

Statistics on Crime and Punishment - REF HV 6787 .S73 1996. A useful compilation for the period covered.