Skip to main content

Composition II Research Guide for ENGL 102: Home

Fall 2017

Welcome!

Welcome to ENGL 102, aka Composition II! In this course you will continue to develop your information literacy and research skills. In some cases, you will learn new skills, in others you will perfect skills introduced previously. Because skills and concepts tend to build on each other, this guide contains some review material as well as material new to you. As always, when you have questions about library research, Ask a Librarian!

Information Literacy: A Model for Research

Information Literacy is a PROCESS!

The Information Literacy Standards Give One Model of the Research Process:

 

Topic = Know Your Information Need

Search = Access the Needed Information

Evaluate = Evaluate Information Critically

Share = Use Information Effectively for a Purpose

Cite = Use Information Ethically

Important Links and Remote Access

Information Literacy

In Composition I you learned . . .

  • Search strategies: Boolean connectors (AND, OR, NOT); exact phrase in quotes; truncation and nesting.
  • Differences between the scope and content of the library catalog and an article database.
  • What you search when you put your keywords into the library catalog or an article database (records of items) as opposed to the Web (full-text and metadata of web pages).
  • Where to look for certain types of information (books, videos, articles, etc.).
  • When the Internet might or might not be an effective search tool.
  • Content notes and subject heading links in the full record of a book in the library catalog that can aid in determining the usefulness of the book and in finding similar items.
  • Searching for full-text articles in an article database.
  • Gained familiarity with the library catalog and at least one of the following databases: Academic OneFile, Academic Search Premier, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, CQ Researcher.

In Composition II you will refine and build on these skills, especially:

  • Finding perspectives from a particular discipline.
  • Better distinguishing scholarly vs. popular sources and understanding how to find scholarly articles.
  • Essential elements of citations and finding articles by citation.
  • Using Full Text Finder to find the full-text of articles.
  • How to borrow books and articles from other libraries through PASCAL Delivers and Interlibrary Loan.

You may be asked to complete the Library Video Tour and Assignment by your Composition instructor. If you have already completed the assignment for University 101, print and present the confirmation you receive by email to prove that you have done the tour.

Tips for completing the tour:

  • Use your University email. If instructed to do so, also include your instructor's email.
  • It is recommended that you NOT access the tour in Spartan Greensky or Blackboard as the videos may not play smoothly. Bring up a browser on your computer, and access through this library guide. Chrome and Firefox browsers are recommended. The tour is not designed to be viewed on mobile devices.
  • Click on the tour numbers on the floor plans of the library to advance through the tour. After you have answered ten quiz questions, there is still a concluding video segment and a page where you will be assigned one of six Tasks.
  • Print out and download your Task and go to the library to complete it.
  • Estimated time: 20-30 minutes for the online module, 15-20 minutes in the library for each Task.
  • Be sure to continue to the end of the online module to make sure your score has been properly submitted. You will see a confirmation page, which you can print. You will also receive an email confirmation.
Loading

Meet the Librarians

Infographic of all Reference Librarians at USC Upstate

Find contact information for librarians in the Library Faculty and Staff directory.