Skip to main content

Communication and Journalism Resources: Reference Sources in Communications and Mass Media

Locating Resources on this Gudie

All call numbers beginning with REF are shelved in the Reference Section of the library.

Electronic resources are accessed by links indicated by blue text.

Background on American Media

ABC-CLIO Companion to the Media in America - REF P92 .U5 H58 1995. Encyclopedic overview of the media in the United States.

History of the Mass Media in the United States - REF P92 .U5 H55 1998

Mass Media: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Television, Radio, Motion Pictures, Magazines, Newspapers and Books in the United States - REF P92 .U5 H77 1987

Directories

American Directory of Writer's Guidelines: a Compilation of Information for Freelancers from More than 1,300 Magazine Editors and Book Publishers - REF PN147 .A479 1999

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media - REF Z6951 .A97 (multi-volume set)

Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac - REF P88.8 .P57 or online

Encyclopedias for Communication and Mass Media

International Encyclopedia of Communication - REF P87.5 .I58 2008, 12 vols.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information - REF P87.5 .E53 2002, 3 vols., and online 

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications - REF P87.5 .E535 2003, 4 vols.

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory - REF P87.5 .E496 2009, 2 vols., and online

Language and Communication: a Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia - REF P29 .F47 1998

From Talking Drums to the Internet: An Encyclopedia of Communications Technology - REF P96 .T42 G374 1997

Violence and the Media - REF P96 .V5 N48 1996

Other Resources

21st Century Communication: a Reference Handbook - REF P90 .A14 2009, 2 vols. or online 

Communication Yearbook - REF P87 .C5974 and online

Dictionary of Media & Communication Studies - REF P87.5 .W38 2006 and online

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications - REF P87.5 .D36 2008 and online

NTC's Mass Media Dictionary - REF P87.5 .E45 1990

Women in Communication: a Biographical Sourcebook - REF P94.5 .W65 W667 1996

Librarian

Kevin Shehan <br> Coordinator of Electronic Resources's picture
Kevin Shehan
Coordinator of Electronic Resources
Contact:
864-503-5632
kshehan@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 113B


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Credits

Much of the information on this guide first appeared in a pathfinder created by Camille McCutcheon in 7/06 and revised by Andrew Kearns in 6/08 and Kevin Shehan in 8/17. This version was first posted in 7/09.