Skip to main content

ARTH U400 - Art Theory and Criticism: Print Resources Citation Examples

This guide was created to assist the students in ARTE U400 Art Theory and Criticism Class

Journal article

Bibliography

McMillen, Sally G.  “Antebellum Southern Fathers and the Health Care of Children.” Journal of Southern History 60,

no. 3 (1994): 513-32.

Note

24. Sally G. McMillen, “Antebellum Southern Fathers and the Health Care of Children,” Journal of Southern History 60, no. 3

(1994): 513-32.

Newspaper article

Bibliography

Morgenson, Gretchen. “Applying a Discount to Good Earnings News,” New York Times, April 23, 2000.

Note

30. Gretchen Morgenson, “Applying a Discount to Good Earnings News,” New York Times, April 23, 2000.

Book: Single author

Bibliography

Rushdie, Salman. The Ground beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.

Note

1. Salman Rushdie, The Ground beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 24.

Book: Two authors

Bibliography

Harnack, Andrew, and Eugene Kleppinger. Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources. 3rd ed.

New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2000.

Note

4. Andrew Harnack and Eugene Kleppinger, Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources, 3rd ed. (New York:

St. Martin’s Press, 2000).

Book: Edited

Bibliography

Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages. London: Philip Wilson, 1999.

Note

9. Ori Z. Soltes, ed., Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages (London: Phillip Wilson, 1999), 280.

Book part (chapter, article, etc.)

Bibliography

Asbrook, James B., and Carol Rausch Albright. “The Frontal Lobes, Intending, and Purposeful God.” Chap. 7 in The Humanizing

Brain. Cleveland, OH: Pilgrim Press, 1997.

Gould, Glenn. “Streisand as Schwarzkopf.” In The Glenn Gould Reader, edited by Tim Page, 308-11. New York: Vintage, 1984.

Note

17. James B. Asbrook and Carol Rausch Albright, “The Frontal Lobes, Intending, and Purposeful God,” chap. 7 in The

Humanizing Brain (Cleveland, OH: Pilgrim Press, 1997).

7. Glenn Gould, “Streisand as Schwarzkopf,” in The Glenn Gould Reader, ed. Tim Page (New York: Vintage, 1984), 310.

Dissertations & Theses

Bibliography

Remedios, Richard E. "Defining my Process: My Journey Through the MFA Acting Program at the University of South

Carolina." Master's thesis, University of South Carolina, 2007.

Note

3. Richard E. Remedios, "Defining my Process: My Journey Through the MFA Acting Program at the University of South Carolina"

(master’s thesis, University of South Carolina, 2007), 35.

What is a DOI?

A DOI is a unique alphanumeric string that provides a persistent link to content online. Chicago style asks that you include a DOI for journal articles that have one.