LibGuides: Exercise Science: Websites

USA.gov

USA.gov
The U.S. government's web portal. Contains an A-Z index of government departments and agencies.

SEARCH HINTS:

Try a keyword search for your topic and/or target population.

You may wish to try including the word "South Carolina" in your search for possible state information, as USA.gov may contain state resources. This is not a guarantee you will find state data, but is a good suggestion.

Keep in mind that you may need to use synonyms when searching.

For example, another term for high blood pressure is hypertension.

Evidence-Based Practices & Programs

The following websites may provide useful evidence-based information on programs and practices, such as guidelines, reviews, and reports.

Guide to Community Preventive Services (Community Preventive Services Task Force)
Provides information on program and policy interventions that have been effective.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Use the search box at the top of the page to search for possible reports on your population.
Institute of Medlcine Reports
Enter search terms (such as the name of the health condition and/or target population) in the box at the top left hand corner of the page.
Healthy People 2030 Evidence-Based Resources
Provides access to reports and other resources, such as studies. Search by topic indicator, such as adolescent health, diabetes, and physical activity. Note that some resources are rated as higher evidence than others, so be sure to evaluate what you find.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Enter search terms (such as the name of the health condition and/or target population) in the box at the top right hand corner of the page.

Selected Government Resources

South Carolina Reports & Other Resources for State/County Data

South Carolina County Health Profile (South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control)
Provides data by county on a variety of topics.
South Carolina Public Health Statistics & Maps (By Topic) (South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control)
Covers health, vital statistics, environment, and databases and other data resources.
South Carolina Public Health Statistics, Maps, & Reports (South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control)
Provides links to a variety of public health information as well as related sources.
Spartanburg Community Indicators Project
Presents data and resources on seven indicators, including public health and social environment issues (housing/crime/poverty).
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
Provides information on health factors and outcomes.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) Prevalence & Trends Data (U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
The Behavior Risk Factor Surveillance System is the world’s largest random telephone survey of non-institutionalized population aged 18 or older that is used to track health risks in the United States. This website provides access to prevalence estimates from the BRFSS core data at the state level as well as data from Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (SMART).
KIDS COUNT South Carolina (Children's Trust of South Carolina)
As the KIDS COUNT leader for South Carolina, a major initiative of the Annie E. Casey Foundation (AECF), Children’s Trust uses this high-quality data and trend analysis to secure better futures for all children in the state.
Research and Data on Children in South Carolina (South Carolina Children's Trust)
Includes data on children and families in South Carolina.

Subject Guide

John Siegel

Coord. of Library Instructional Services

Contact:

864-503-5639
jsiegel2@uscupstate.edu
Office: Library 117D
Main Library: 864-503-5620

Subjects: Business / Economics, Community Health, Exercise Science, Psychology, Sociology / Women's Studies / Gender Studies