Exercise Science: Find Articles on a Topic

Students have found this log useful to keep track of searches and articles of possible interest.

To increase the size of the video for playback, begin the video and in the lower right hand corner of the video, choose the full screen option (which looks like a square).

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

• Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.

• No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Find It Check for Full Text, Linked Full Text, or HTML Full Text.

• Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Journal Search. Enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.

• Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

Below are several databases that should be useful to find articles. Remember to think broadly when choosing databases. If your topic has to do with motivating people to exercise, for example, try searching the APA PsycInfo database.

SEARCH HINTS:

• Use the limiters at the bottom of the search page (under Limit Your Results). For example, be sure to check Peer Reviewed to find scholarly/journal articles and select English Language.
• Be sure to print, save, or e-mail articles. Do not copy and paste the link from the search box of your Internet browser.  
• If you only need a few articles, or have waited to the last minute to do your research, select Linked Full Text or Full Text (at the bottom of the search page or in the left-hand column on the search results page) to find articles available online.

Please note that SportDISCUS allows 4 simultaneous users at a time. If you receive a message about maximum users, please try again later.

Here are other databases to try:

You may also want to explore the other Exercise Science Databases available through the Library: