This library tutorial will help you learn how to use the database Communication and Mass Media Complete. Alan W. Aldrich. University Libraries, University of South Dakota. Although this database if from University of South Dakota it goes into detail on how to use the advanced search screen to find communication topics.
Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/) is a web search engine that searches specifically for scholarly literature and academic resources from publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/) is a web search engine that searches specifically for scholarly literature and academic resources from publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar returns not only scholarly journal articles but also research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, working papers, books, court opinions as well as things such as power point presentations, web pages and many other document types it deems scholarly using a built in algorithm.
Google Scholar is NOT Google, while Google searches the entire public Web, Google Scholar searches a smaller portion of the Web, similar to searching in the Library's catalog and databases. There is a more scholarly, authoritative focus with Google Scholar distinguishing it from Google. Google scholar is like a federated search allowing you to search in many places at once. Remember it is not exactly the same as a Library Database, many articles may have links to the Library Databases (if your library is linked in your Google Scholar settings) but it will NOT be all of the same materials. Think of it as a starting place for more precise searching, more search features, and more content use the Library's Databases.
Google Scholar includes many citations that link directly to publishers' websites of which most will charge a fee for full access. However, the USC Upstate Library subscribes to many of these publications offering you access without paying the publisher (we already have paid). In order for Google Scholar to link to these articles in our paid databases, you must make sure that the Library links has USC Upstate’s library information.
Altho the above video was created by Eastern Michigan University it covers the best parts of Google Scholar.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xi26AvoMMDg
https://video.lib.uwf.edu/content/unrestricted/Research_Tutorials/Google_Scholar/video.mp4
Remember the trick of clicking into Communication & Mass Media Complete then click choose databases and click on Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson), Academic Search Ultimate to search all four databases at once.
These General / Multidisciplinary databases include some core journals in communication. They are a good place to start your searching.