LibGuides: Biology: Topics &amp; Websites

Limited Disease List

Disease	Organ/Target
Addison's disease	Adrenal Glands
Ankylosing spondylitis	Spine
Antiphospholipid antibody syndrome	Blood Clotting
Celiac disease	Small Intestine
Crohn's disease	Gastrointestinal tract
Diabetes mellitus Type I (some forms)	Pancrease islet cells
Felty's disease	Joints and spleen
Goodpasture's syndrome	Kidneys and lungs
Grave's disease	Thyroid gland
Guillain-Barre syndrome	Peripheral nervous system
Hashimoto's thyroiditis	Thyroid gland
Hemolytic anemia	Red blood cells, platelets
Multiple sclerosis	Brain & spinal cord
Myasthenia gravis	Junctions between nerves & muscles
Pemphigus Vulgaris	Skin & mucus membranes
Pernicious anemia	Stomach parietal cells
Polymyositis	Skeletal muscle
Poststreptococcal glomerulonephritis	Kidneys
Psoriasis	Skin
Rheumatic Fever	Heart
Rheumatoid arthritis	Connective tissue & joints
Scleroderma	Heart, lungs, kidney, gastrointestinal tract
Sjogren's syndrome	Saliva & tear glands
Systemic lupus erythematosus	DNA, platelets, all organs
Thrombocytopenic purpura	Platelets
Wegner's granulomatosis	Lungs & kidneys

Relevant Biology Websites

PLOS - Biology
PLOS Biology publishes significant advances across the biological sciences
Semantics Scholar
Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature, based at the Allen Institute for AI.
Web of Science - Researcher Profile
Web of Science Researcher Profiles help you raise your visibility in the worldwide research community. In a few easy steps you can share a complete view of your achievements to attract collaborators and funders.
doi.org
Look up a digital object identifier to find the article information and if it is available online.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Itis.gov offers the common name and scientific name of plants and animals. This can come in handy as some scientific databases only use scientific plant names.

Cells Alive
CELLS alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. The site has been available continuously and updated annually since May of 1994 and now hosts over 4 million visitors a year.
Microbes.info
Microbes.info is an internet web site designed to bring useful and interesting microbiology informational resources to you.
Plants.usda.gov
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
microbe.net
The microbiology of the Built Environment network (aka microBEnet) is a project funded by a grant from Alfred P. Sloan Foundation’s Program on the Indoor Environment to Jonathan A. Eisen at the University of California, Davis.
protocol-online
Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites. The data is stored in a MySql relational database. Protocol Online also hosts discipline specific discussion forums (BioForum), and provides a free PubMed search and alerting service (PubAlert). This site was created in June 1999 and is maintained by Dr. Long-Cheng Li. In order to better serve the research community, any comments and suggestions that can help improve this site are welcomed.

American Association for the Advancement of Science
As the research community and decision-makers worldwide respond to the coronavirus pandemic, Science and AAAS are working tirelessly to provide credible, evidence-based information and bring you the latest research and commentary, along with extensive news coverage of the crisis.
Cell Press - Coronavirus Resource Hub
Coronavirus: Research, Commentary, and News
The Science journals are striving to provide the best and most timely research, analysis, and news coverage of COVID-19 and the coronavirus that causes it. All content is free to access.
National Institutes of Health
COVID-19 open-access data and computational resources are being provided by federal agencies, including NIH, public consortia, and private entities. These resources are freely available to researchers, and this page will be updated as more information becomes available.
The COVID-19 research database
enables public health and policy researchers to use real-world data to better understand and combat the COVID-19 pandemic. You must register to gain access.
The COVID Tracking Project
By the Atlantic
LitCOVID
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 48969 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.

MIT
COVID-19 related research articles and datasets
Medical College of Wisconsin - Libguide
For : National Association Resources
Drexel University
For: Finding the Science
Princeton University Library
For: Scientific data and searching
Harvard - Hollis Library
For: Harvard Schools and Centers Resource links