Skip to main content

Citing Art, Music, Images, & Social Media: Art

This LibGuide aims to support anyone working to cite more than a book.

Painting, Sculpture, & Other Works of Art header

MLA

Original Work of Art

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of artwork(description if no title). Year created. Medium. Location of artwork (museum/collection of), city.

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from the Web

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of artwork(description if no name). Year created. Location of artwork (museum/collection of). Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of database or website. Medium of artwork. Date of access.

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from a Print Source

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of artwork(description if no name). Year created. Location of artwork (museum/collection of). Title of print source. Author/editor's first name last name. Publication city: Publisher, year. Page/Plate number. Medium of reproduction (print).

APA

Original Work of Art

Artists Last Name, First name initial. Middle name initial. (Year Created or n.d.). Art Title [Format of art]. Collection name, Museum name, Location of Museum.

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from the Web

Artists Last Name, First name initial. Middle name initial. (Year Created or n.d.). Art Title [Art found in Collection name, Museum name, Location of Museum]. Retrieved Date, from URL

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art in a Print Source

Artists Last Name, First name initial. Middle name initial. (Year Created or n.d.). Art Title [Art found in Collection name, Museum name, Location of Museum]. In Source Title (Ed. Edition., Vol. Volume#, Series, pp.). City, State: Publisher. (original work created in Year)

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art in a Database

Artists Last Name, First name initial. Middle name initial. (Year Created or n.d.). Art Title [Art found in Collection name, Museum name, Location of Museum]. Retrieved Date, from http://URL (Original work created in Year)

Chicago

Original Work of Art

Artists Last Name, First name Middle name. Art Title. Year Created or n.d. Collection, Museum, Location.

Work of Art in a Print Source

Artists Last Name, First name Middle name. Art Title. Year Created or n.d. Collection, Museum, Location. In Source. ed. Vol. Series. City, State: Publisher, year. pp.

Work of Art on a Website

Artists Last Name, First name Middle name. Art Title. Year Created or n.d. Collection, Museum, Location. In Website Title. Date published. Accessed Date. URL.

Work of Art in a Database

Artists Last Name, First name Middle name. Art Title. Year Created or n.d. Collection, Museum, Location. Accessed Date. http://URL.