Skip to main content

Chemistry: Finding a Known Article

This guide will assist Chemistry students.

What is a Citation?

A journal article citation contains identifying information including the author(s), publication date, name of journal, volume, and page numbers. ACS citations may also have the title of the article.

EXAMPLE OF A JOURNAL ARTICLE CITATION IN ACS STYLE:

Klinger, J. Chem. Mater. 2005, 17, 2755-2768 

                                         OR 

Klinger, J. Influence of Pretreatment on Sodium Powder. Chem. Mater. 2005, 17, 2755-2768 

 

The author is J. Klinger

The publication date is 2005.

The title of the article is Influence of Pretreatment on Sodium Powder.

The title of the journal is Chemistry of Materials (journal abbreviation: Chem. Mater.).

The volume number is 17.

The page numbers are 2755-2768.

Journal Abbreviations

Type the abbreviated title in the one or both of the tools below to find out the complete title of the journal. Be sure to enter the punctuation in the abbreviated title, including periods.

Finding an Article Using a Citation

When you have a citation for an article, use Full-Text Finder to locate the entire article (full-text). Full-Text Finder will tell you if the USC Upstate Library has access to the journal.

IMPORTANT NOTES:

  • Be sure to enter the title of the journalnot the title of the article.
    • Full-Text Finder may not recognize journal abbreviations, so if you do not find a search result OR the wrong results, try entering the full title of the journal (not abbreviated). Use the abbreviation sources on this page to find full journal titles.
  • If the library does not have access to the journal and/or issue you need, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan. Please allow 3-7 working days for processing.

Using 'Full-Text Finder'

When using Full-Text Finder to locate a specific article:

  • Be sure to enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.
  • Full-Text Finder may not recognize journal abbreviations, so if you do not come up with a result try entering the full title of the journal (not the abbreviated title).
  • Compare and match the listed dates with the date of the article you need. There may be more than one link to access a journal, magazine, or newspaper that matches the date you need.
  • Find a listing of issues. This listing may appear on the front page. Sometimes you will need to look for an All Issues, Past Issues, or another similarly titled link.
  • Once you have located a listing of issues, find the individual article by using the year, volume/issue information, and page numbers.
  • After you have found the individual article, choose the PDF Full Text or PDF link if it is available.

  • No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for a ​Download, Full Text, HTML, HTML Full Text, or ​similar link.