Skip to main content

CRJU 361 Criminal Justice Research Methods: Article Databases

Fall 2017

Finding Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles, you need to use article databases. You have probably used multidisciplinary databases like Academic Search Complete, but for advanced work in criminal justice, you should begin with one of the important disciplinary databases in your field, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text. Remember that most of these databases began decades ago as paper indexes published on a quarterly or annual basis. That accounts for some peculiarities: like the library catalog, you are searching records, not the full text of items, even when full text is available. Even full text databases have a lot of items that don't have full text: generally, full text begins for items published in the late 1990s, abstracts are usually available for many items before that, and all items will have complete citations.

Full Text Finder

Interlibrary Loan

If you determine that USC Upstate does not have the journal issue containing the article you want to read in electronic full-text or in print, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan. Follow this link, register, and log on to the system. Allow two weeks for delivery at the circulation desk. You will either receive the article as a PDF scan or a photocopy will be held for you at the circulation desk. You will be notified by email when an article arrives, but you may track the status of your order in the My Account feature of the Library Catalog.

Subject Databases

Online Journal Collections

General Article Databases

These multidisciplinary databases include some of the core journals in criminal justice. They are also a good place for interdisciplinary research.