Skip to main content

SPCH U301 - Theories and Principles of Human Communication - Dr. Renu Pariyadath: Popular Communication and Journalism Journals

Scholarly Journals

These journals are available in paper or online full-text through the USC Upstate Library. Most are peer-reviewed and present research articles and other material of interest to an academic audience.

Argumentation & Advocacy – Flagship journal of the American Forensic Association, this journal aims to advance the study of argumentation, including argumentation theory, public and political argument, culture and argument, legal argument, interpersonal arguing, pragma-dialetics, and forensics and pedagogy.

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 1990-present.

 

Communication, Culture and Critique – “Provides an international forum for critical, interpretive and qualitative research examining the role of communication and cultural criticism in today’s world.”

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).         

Full-Text in Wiley Online Library, 2008-present; and Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/2008 to one year ago.

 

Communication Theory: CT – Publishes “high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication” from several disciplinary perspectives.     

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 2/2006-one year ago.

           

Feminist Media Studies – Provides an international forum for leading scholarship in the areas of feminist studies of media and communication.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Taylor & Francis Online, 2001-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/2001-18 months ago.

           

Howard Journal of Communications – Examines the influence of ethnicity, gender, and culture on communication issues from a multicultural perspective.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Taylor & Francis Online, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/1988-18 months ago.

 

Human Communication Research – Official journal of the International Communication Association. Emphasis on theory-driven research, human communication methodologies, and critical synthesis. Focus on human symbolic processes in the areas of interpersonal, nonverbal, organizational, intercultural, and mass communication; language and social interaction; new technologies; and health communication.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 2006-one year ago.

 

Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media (formerly Journal of Broadcasting) – Publishes articles that cover the trends in research of electronic media, including critical, historical and ethnographic perspectives.

Back issues in Microfilm, (check holdings in library catalog). Microfilm under former title Journal of Broadcasting (check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 6/1985-present.

 

Journal of Communication – A major journal in the field, this publication is interdisciplinary in approach and covers communication theory, research, practice, and policy.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/2006-one year ago.

 

Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication – Interdisciplinary focus for research and essays about computerized communication.

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 11/2005-one year ago.

 

Journal of Media Ethics  (formerly Journal of Mass Media Ethics)– Publishes articles that articulate conflicts and present and define ethical issues.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Taylor and Francis Online, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 1985-18 months ago.

 

Journal of Nonverbal Behavior – Publishes research on various aspects of nonverbal communication.

Full-Text in Springer (LINK), 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/1992-one year ago.

 

Journalism and Communication Monographs (formerly Journalism and Mass Communication Monographs) –

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog). Paper back issues under former title Journalism and Mass Communication Monographs (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Sage Online Journals, 1999-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 1999-2011.

 

Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly (formerly Journalism Quarterly) – Flagship journal of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.           

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog). Additional back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm) under former title Journalism Quarterly (check library catalog).

Full-text in Sage Online Journals, 1955-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 1975-present.

 

Rhetoric Society Quarterly – Presents cross-disciplinary scholarship on all aspects of rhetorical studies.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1976-7 years ago.

Trade Journals and Magazines

These publications, available through the USC Upstate Library, present news, articles and reports for professional or general audiences.

American Journalism Review (formerly Washington Journalism Review) –  Published articles and news about reporting.       

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 7/1993-4/2013.

 

Columbia Journalism Review - Publishes articles covering journalistic practice.    

Back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 1962-present.

 

Editor and Publisher – Major trade magazine covering the newspaper industry.   

Full-text in ABI-INFORM, 1/1988-present; Academic OneFile and other Gale databases, 1991-present.

 

Extra! – Magazine published by the anti-censorship watch group Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting.    

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 2/2007 to present.

 

News Photographer – Published by the National Press Photographers Association, presents news, articles, profiles, and interviews relating to still and television news photography.   

Back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

 

Nieman Reports – Publishes thought-provoking articles on current events and issues surrounding the profession of journalism.     

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 1996-present; Academic OneFile, 9/1992-present.

 

The Quill – Official publication of the Society of Professional Journalists containing articles and commentary of wide interest.          

Full-text in Communication & Mass Media Complete, 7/1993-present; Academic OneFile and other Gale databases, 1/1989-2008.

 

Utne Reader Reprints articles from the alternative and independent media.      

Back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog). Library catalog record for 1988-2006 and 2002-2006.

 

Vital Speeches of the Day – Publishes the complete text of important speeches in areas such as of politics, education, sociology, government, criminology, finance, business, taxation, health, law, and labor.          

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).           

Full-text in Academic Search Complete, 10/1934-present

Librarian

Kevin Shehan <br> Coord. of Electronic Resources & Technical Svcs's picture
Kevin Shehan
Coord. of Electronic Resources & Technical Svcs
Contact:
864-503-5632
kshehan@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 111B


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Credits

The descriptions on this guide are based on Cheryl LaGuardia, Magazines for Libraries, 18th ed. (New Providence, NJ: ProQuest, 2009) and Ulrich's International Periodical Directory, http://www.ulrichsweb.com/ulrichsweb/.