Skip to main content

Jazz: Music Journals and Magazines

A Guide to Important Reference Sources and Online Resources Available at USC Upatate.

Finding Journals and Articles

This page lists music magazines and journals by title to facilitate browsing. To search for individual articles, use article databases: Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete for scholarly articles as well as articles from major magazines and newspapers. Humanities Full Text has indexing extending further back (to 1907 for some publications) for a similar selection. For features and reviews of popular music, MasterFILE Premier has a broad selection of general-interest magazines and newspapers while Reader's Guide has better retrospective indexing (back to 1890 for some publications). Biography Index Retrospective indexes biographical articles published between 1946 and 1983.

Music Magazines

These are magazines for which the library has a print or electronic subscription.

 

Bass Player - for amateur to professional bass players in all styles.

Library has current print subscription. Check library catalog for holdings.

Indexed in MasterFile Premier, 1/1/2002 to present.

 

Billboard - Principal music industry trade magazine. Includes industry information as well as features.

Library has current print subscription with issues held for the past year.

Available in Full Text in ABI/INFORM, 1/9/1988-present (PDF full text) and Academic Search Complete, 1/1/1991-present (HTML full text).

Indexed in ABI/INFORM 1/9/1988-present; Academic Search Complete and Masterfile Premier 7/1/1993-present; Academic OneFile 3/1981-present.

 

Down Beat - Features and reviews for jazz and related genres.

Library has current print subscription and back issues. Check catalog record for holdings.

Indexed in Academic Search Complete and Masterfile Premier 1/1/1984-present; Academic OneFile 1/1977-present.

 

Guitar Player - for amateur to professional guitar players in all genres from classical to contemporary.

Library has current print subscription. Check catalog record for holdings.

Indexed in MasterFile Premier, 7/1/1996-present.

 

Guitar World - Interviews covering techniques, instruments and lifestyles and "famously thorough transcriptions."

Library has current print subscription. Check library catalog for holdings.

This title is not indexed in any of USC Upstate's article databases.

 

Keyboard - for keyboard musicians in all styles.

Library has current print subscription. Check library catalog for holdings.

Indexed in MasterFile Premier, 1/1/2002 to present.

 

Modern Drummer - dedicated to the art of drumming.

Library has current print subscription. Check library catalog for holdings.

This title is not currently indexed in any of USC Upstate's article databases.

 

Rolling Stone - Major magazine for rock music criticism.

Library has back issues (starting in 1967) on microfilm. Check library catalog for holdings.

Available in Full Text in Academic Search Complete, 8/9/1990 to present (HTML full text)

Indexed in Academic Search Complete and Masterfile Premier 1/1/1984-present; Reader's Guide 11/11/1982-present; Academic OneFile 1/1977-present.

 

 

 

Scholarly Journals

These are some of the more important scholarly journals available in full-text in our library databases. For most, JSTOR has complete runs of journals from the first issue up to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years, meaning that newer issues are added 2-5 years after they are published, depending on publisher agreements. Some journals have more recent issues in Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete. Some publishers impose a 12 or 18 month delay before new issues can be added. Most of these journals are indexed in both Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete and can also be searched in JSTOR.

 

19th Century Music - Covering all aspects of music in the "long" 19th century.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1977-3 years ago.

 

American Music - Covers all aspects of American music and music in America.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1983-2 years ago; Academic OneFile, 9/1992-present (1 year dealy).

 

Early Music - Devoted to music of the pre-Romantic past, contains contributions from scholars and performers on all aspects of early music.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1973-5 years ago; Acacemic Search Complete, 2/1996- present (1 year delay).

 

Ethnomusicology - Official journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology, and the premier journal devoted to the study of the world's many musical traditions.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1953-4 years ago.

 

Journal of Music Theory - Devoted to the theoretical aspects of music.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1957-5 years ago.

 

Journal of Musicology - Important journal for scholarship on many aspects of music history and culture.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1982-3 years ago.

 

Journal of the American Musicological Society - Official journal of the Society and the premier scholarly journal for musicology and related fields in the United States.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1948-3 years ago; Academic OneFile, 6/2000-present.

 

Journal of the Royal Musical Association - Leading British journal for music history and related fields. Began in the 19th century as Proceedings of the Musical Association (later Proceedings of the Royal Musical Association) before acquiring its current title in 1986.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1874-5 years ago; Academic Search Complete, 9/2005-present (18 month delay).

 

Music & Letters - Leading British journal of music scholarship.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1920-5 years ago; Academic Search Complete, 2/1996-present (1 year delay).

 

Music Theory Spectrum - Official journal of the Society for Music Theory covering all aspects of music theory.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1979-3 years ago.

 

The Musical Quarterly - Venerable and influential journal of American music scholarship. Contributors have included many famous composers and performers as well as scholars.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1915-5 years ago; Academic Search Complete, 3/1996-present (1 year delay).

The library has paper back issues. Check the library catalog for holdings.

 

Popular Music - A leading journal for scholarship on popular music around the world.

Full-Text in JSTOR, 1981-5 years ago.