Skip to main content

Jazz: Biographical Information

A Guide to Important Reference Sources and Online Resources Available at USC Upatate.

Search the Library Catalog

USC Upstate Library Catalog
Advanced Keyword Search

Search Tips:

  • A Subject search will find basic books, biographies and documentaries. Enter last name, first name.

       armstrong, louis

  • A Keyword search can be useful in finding information in book chapters. Use quotes if you want to keep first and last names together.

         "miles davis"

Reference Sources

Loading

Browsing the Collection

The Library of Congress classification system for music is divided into three broad areas:

M = Musical scores and audio and video recordings of actual performances of music. Most of the library's CD collection and many videos are shelved in the Ms.

ML = Literature about music. Biographies, histories, documentaries, and some historically-based CD anthologies are shelved in the MLs.

MT = Materials for the teaching and study of music. Some historical or practical materials with a strong analytical or didactic bent are also shelved in the MTs.

Books and recordings on jazz are scattered throughout the collection, but there are several areas of concentration that lend themselves to browsing:

M 1366 contains most jazz recordings and transcriptions

M 1503-1507 include lighter forms of dramatic music, including operetta, musicals, and anthologies of excerpts from musical theater

M 1629-1630s contain popular songs

ML 417-419 contains many biographies of jazz musicians

ML 3534 contains many books about the history of Rock.

ML 1711.8, 2054, 2075 have concentrations of books about Broadway and Hollywood musicals and songs

ML 3506-3518 history of jazz

MT 68 instruction books on jazz styles and improvisation

Be aware that in the USC Upstate Library, music materials may be found in three locations:

Reference (Library Use Only) - The most useful and up-to-date reference books.

General Circulating Collection - Books, Scores, CDs, Videos that are available to check out.

Oversize Collection - Books, Scores, CD sets that do not fit on standard library shelves. These are also available to check out.

 

Selected Biographies