Skip to main content

CRJU U501 - Senior Seminar - Section 01 - Dr. Robert Sarver: Criminal Justice Journals

Fall 2017

Criminal Justice Journals

These journals are peer-reviewed and publish original research articles, review articles, and other information of interest to scholars.

American Journal of Criminal Justice – Sponsored by the Southern Criminal Justice Association, focuses on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues, including items related to the criminal justice process, the formal and informal interplay between system components, problems and solutions experienced by various segments, innovative practices, and evaluative research.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in SpringerLink, 3/1997-present and Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 9/1984-present.

 

British Journal of Criminology – Published by Oxford University Press for the Centre for Crime  and Justice Studies. BJC publishes high quality papers from around the world with the aim to facilitate healthy debate and understanding of the complex nature of issues concerning crime.

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1996-12 months ago.

 

Crime and Delinquency – Published in cooperation with the National Council on Crime and Delinquency, a policy-oriented journal for the professional with direct involvement in the criminal justice field.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, heck holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in Sage Journals Online for 7/1955-present.

 

Criminal Justice and Behavior: An International Journal – Examines psychological and behavioral aspects of the juvenile and criminal justice systems. It emphasizes publication of empirical research.

Full-Text in Sage Journals Online for 3/1974-present.

 

Criminal Justice Ethics – Serves as a forum for diverse viewpoints on the police, the courts, corrections and the ethics which relate to them.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm: check holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1990 to 18 months ago.

 

Criminal Justice Policy Review – Published in association with Indiana University of Pennsylvania and its department of criminology, it publishes research articles that are multidisciplinary and focus on criminal justice policy.

Full-Text in Sage Journals Online for 1/1986-present.

 

Criminology: An Interdisciplinary Journal – The flagship journal of the American Society of Criminology, it is devoted to the study of crime and deviant behavior. Includes articles that present theory, research, historical issues, policy evaluation and current controversies.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm: check holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1963-12 months ago; and Wiley Online Library, 1997-present.

 

Criminology and Public Policy - Affiliated with the American Society of Criminology, it is devoted to the study of criminal justice policy and practices. The central objective is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation of crime and justice policy by publishing policy-focused research articles.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals: check holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in Wiley Online Library, 2001-present.

 

Howard Journal of Criminal Justice - Sponsored by the Howard League for Penal Reform (founded 1866 in the United Kingdom), this long-standing journal has broadened its scope to include well-researched and documented material on all aspects of the criminal justice process, including penal policy and crime prevention, both theory and practice.

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 2/1998 to 12 months ago; and in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present.

 

Journal of Criminal Justice - An international journal for the dissemination of new information, ideas and methods to both practitioners and academicians in criminal justice. Research articles are included.

Full-Text in Science Direct for 1995-present.

 

Journal of Criminal Justice Education – The official publication of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, it provides examination, discussion and debate of a broad range of issues concerning postsecondary education in criminal justice.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals: check holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in Taylor and Francis Online, 3/1997-present; and in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 9/2001 to 18 months ago.

 

Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology – Published by Northwestern University School of Law, it provides a forum for discussion and debate on such topics as white-collar crime, constitutional questions, international law, evidence, jurisdiction and securities regulation. It is considered to be a widely-circulated law journal read by judges, legal academics, criminologists and police officers.

Back issues (Bound Periodicals: check holdings in the library catalog).

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1910-present.  Back issues of this journal are also available in JSTOR, 1910 to 3 years ago.

 

Journal of Drug Issues – Focuses on the national and international problems associated with drugs, especially illicit drugs. Widely-used by those involved with the problems of drug abuse.

Full-Text in Sage Journals Online, 1999-present.

 

Journal of Family Violence – Provides and interdisciplinary forum for information on clinical and investigative efforts concerning all forms of family violence (spouse battering, child abuse, sexual abuse, incest, abuse of the elderly, marital rape, domestic homicide, the alcoholic marriage and general family conflict). Clinical and research reports are included.

Paper and Microfilm back issues: check holdings in the library catalog.

Full-Text in SpringerLink, 1997-present; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1986-12 months ago.

 

Journal of Interpersonal Violence - Publishes research articles, book reviews, and other features centered on "the study and treatment of victims and perpetrators of physical and sexual violence." Contributors are drawn from a variety of disciplines, including sociology, social work, public health, pediatrics, clinical psychology, and criminal justice.

Full-Text in Sage Journals Online, 1986-present.

 

Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency – Published in cooperation with the National Council on Crime and Delinquency, the journal provides an excellent sampling of recent research using a variety of methods, both qualitative and quantitative, and it illustrates the application of sophisticated analytic techniques. It is interdisciplinary, with perspectives from economics, psychology, public administration, social work, and sociology, as well as criminology and criminal justice.

Full-Text in Sage Journals Online, 1964-present.

 

Judicature - Published by the American Judicature Society, it provides a forum for fact and opinion relating to all aspects of the administration of justice and its improvement. Does not include research articles.

 Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals: check holdings in library catalog).

 

Justice Quarterly – The flagship journal for the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, it provides a major forum for crime research. Research articles are included.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm: check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Taylor and Francis Online, 3/1997-present; in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 9/2001 to 18 months ago.

 

Law and Contemporary Problems – A highly-regarded journal which publishes in each issue a symposium of articles devoted to a current legal topic of interest.

Full-Text in Academic OneFile, 6/1999-present. Back issues available from JSTOR for 1933 to 5 years before current volume.

 

Law and Society Review - Published by the Law and Society Association, an international group drawn primarily from the legal and social science professions. Its purpose is to stimulate and support research and teaching on the cultural, economic, political, psychological and social aspects of law and legal systems. Includes research articles.

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1966-present; Wiley Online Library, 2003-present. Back issues available on JSTOR for 1966 to 3 years before current volume.

 

Prison Journal – The official journal of the Pennsylvania Prison Society, founded in 1787 and the oldest prison reform organization in the United States. A well-respected journal which provides articles on all aspects of corrections and promotes restorative justice.

Full-Text in Sage Online Journals, 1921-present.

 

Women and Criminal Justice - An interdisciplinary journal publishing research articles on all issues pertaining to women in criminal justice. Also included are biographical essays on women who have made contributions to the criminal justice field.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm: check holdings in library catalog).

Full Text from Taylor and Francis Online, 1997-present.

Trade Journals

These publications are written for the criminal justice professional and present the latest news in the field. While they may contain summaries of research studies, they do not normally publish original research articles, and are usually not peer-reviewed.

 

Corrections Compendium: The National Journal for Corrections – Published by the American Corrections Association, it aims to advance the corrections field. Includes a monthly national survey of correctional systems which include statistical data. The data presented in these surveys is valuable.

Full Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text, 4/2009-present, and Academic OneFile, 1/2000-present.

 

Corrections Today – It is the professional membership publication of the American Correctional Association and serves as a forum for presenting and discussing issues related to corrections promoting practical information, rather than presenting research articles.

Paper back issues (check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 1994-present.

 

Criminologist – The official newsletter of the American Society of Criminology, it has includes notices on the accomplishments of individuals in the field, conferences, new book listings, and job announcements.

USC Upstate has paper back issues (check holdings in the library catalog).

 

FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin – An official publication of the FBI and the U.S. Department of Justice, its articles explore current issues facing law enforcement in the U.S. and throughout the world. Police techniques, crime problems, personnel and management, equipment and training are covered. Articles are written by law enforcement professionals.

Microfilm back issues (check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, 7/1993-present.

 

Police Chief: Professional Voice of Law Enforcement – The official publication of the International Association of Chiefs of Police, it provides a forum for the latest trends and practices in law enforcement and includes discussions of processes, procedures and concepts for increased operation efficiency and effectiveness.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in the library catalog).

Available as an open access journal online: http://www.policechiefmagazine.org/magazine-issues/

Sources of Annotations

Annotations in this guide are adapted from:

Vaughn, Michael S. and Rolando V. Del Carman, Martin Perfecto and Ka Xiong Charand. “Journals inCriminal Justice and Criminology: An Updated and Expanded Guide for Authors,” Journal of Criminal Justice Education, Vol. 15, No. 1, Spring 2004 pages 61-192.

Hallman, Clark N. “Criminology and Law Enforcement” in Magazines for Libraries (12th ed.) by Cheryl LaGuardia. New Providence, New Jersey: Bowker, 2003.

Hallman, Clark N. and Mary Kraljic. “Criminology and Law Enforcement” in Magazines for Libraries (15th ed.) by Cheryl LaGuardia, New Providence, New Jersey: Bowker, 2006.

This guide to Criminal Justice Journals was created as a pathfinder by Nancy Lambert 8/2005 and revised by Andrew Kearns in 7/2007 and 6/2008. This version was first placed online in 7/2009.