Skip to main content

Communication and Journalism Resources: Journalism Reference Sources

Locating Resources on this Gudie

All call numbers beginning with REF are shelved in the Reference Section of the library.

Electronic resources are accessed by links indicated by blue text.

Style Guides

Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law - REF PN4783 .A83 

New York Times Manual of Style and Usage - REF PN4783 .S57 1999b

Industry Guides

Editor & Publisher Newspaper Data Book - REF PN4700 .E42

Editor & Publisher Market Guide - REF PN4700 .E251 

Journalism Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Journalism - REF PN4728 .E48 2009, 6 vols. or online 

Encyclopedia of American Journalism - REF PN4855 .V38 2009

World Press Encyclopedia - Available online in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Biographical Dictionary of American Journalism - REF PN4871 .B56 1989

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Journalists - REF PN4871 .T34 1986

Magazine and Newspaper Journalism

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: a National Bibliography - REF Z6944 .N39 A37 1998

Afro-American Periodical Press, 1838-1909 - REF PN4882.5 .B8 1981

American Journalism: a History of Newspapers in the United States through 250 Years, 1690-1940 - REF PN4855 .M63 2000

Black Press in the South, 1865-1979 - REF PN4882.5 .B54 1983

Daily Newspaper in America: the Evolution of a Social Instrument - REF PN4855 .L38 1973

History and Bibliography of American Magazines, 1810-1820 - REF PN4877 .E3

History of the Black Press - REF PN4882.5 .P75 1997

History of American Magazines - REF PN4877 .M63, Vol. 2 - 1850-1865, Vol. 3 - 1865-1885

Hispanic Periodicals in the United States: Origins to 1960 - REF PN4885 .S75 Z9 2000 and online

Journalism in the United States, from 1690 to 1872 - REF PN4855 .H8 1968

South Carolina Newspapers - REF PN4897 .S63 M66 

Librarian

Kevin Shehan <br> Coord. of Electronic Resources & Technical Svcs's picture
Kevin Shehan
Coord. of Electronic Resources & Technical Svcs
Contact:
864-503-5632
kshehan@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 111B


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620