Donation Information - Archives and Special Collections - Old Layout - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

Donating Archival Materials

Donating family, corporate, or institutional papers and records helps support the preservation of collective memory and history of a particular region or group. The University Archives and Archives of the Upstate have guidelines for the types of materials that fit within the overall collection policy, and are happy to review with potential donors the suitability of their materials for inclusion in the Archives.

All donations to the Archives will be subject to a signed Deed of Gift detailing the agreement between the two parties. As a practice, the Archives generally do not take donations that are only "on loan" for a specific amount of time, with no permanent transfer of ownership. Instead, the Archives will work with potential donors to craft a Deed of Gift that provides for both protection of and access to the prospective collection.

The Society of American Archivists (the national governing body for professional archivists) has created a number of brochures that detail specific information relating to donations, appraisals, and other aspects of collection development. In addition, there are several professional organizations that may be able to provide appraisals of your collections, if needed. The SAA Code of Ethics prohibits archives from appraising any materials presented for inclusion in their collections; please consult the links below for additional information.

These guidelines and organizations are linked below for reference purposes; please feel free to contact the University Archives to arrange for a consultation or further information.

A Guide to Deeds of Gift (SAA Brochure)
This informative brochure, aimed at potential donors, introduces the key document in the transfer of papers: the deed of gift. It discusses in detail the rationale for the deed and the varied provisions a deed may contain to address the diverse needs of individual donors.
Donating Your Organization's Records to a Repository (SAA Brochure)
If an organization values its history, it must act to save the original letters, minutes, reports, photos, publications, and other documents that officers, members, directors, employees, or volunteers have produced and compiled over the years. This brochure--revised and updated by Steering Committees of the Manuscript Repositories, Electronic Records, and the Acquisitions & Appraisal Sections of the Society of American Archivists--is designed to educate and identify potential donors about the donation process according to nationally practiced standards.
Donating Your Personal or Family Records to a Repository (SAA Brochure)
This brochure--revised and updated by Steering Committees of the Manuscript Repositories, Electronic Records, and the Acquisitions & Appraisal Sections of the Society of American Archivists--is designed to educate and identify potential donors about the donation process, including essential agreements and financial aspects, according to nationally practiced standards.
American Society of Appraisers
ASA is a nonprofit organization of individuals that was incorporated in the state of Delaware in 1952 to establish an effective professional affiliation of appraisers of all disciplines, working cooperatively to elevate the standards of the appraisal profession. By reason of this broad concept, the society occupies a unique position among all professional appraisal societies in that it recognizes and is concerned with all classes of property: real, personal, tangible, and intangible.
International Society of Appraisers
The International Society of Appraisers (ISA) is the largest of the professional personal property appraisal associations representing the most highly trained and rigorously tested independent appraisers in the United States and Canada. We are a not-for-profit, member-driven association, formed to support our member needs and to enhance public trust by producing qualified and ethical appraisers who are recognized authorities in personal property appraising.
Appraisers Association of America
The Appraisers Association of America, established in 1949, is the premier national association of personal property appraisers who focus on fine and decorative arts. With a membership of over 700 independent appraisers in 100 different areas of specialization, the Appraisers Association's roster of well-established professionals has the widest range of experience and expertise in their respective fields.
Determining the Value of Donated Property (IRS Publication 561)
PDF, 15p. This publication is designed to help donors and appraisers determine the value of property (other than cash) that is given to qualified organizations. It also explains what kind of information you must have to support the charitable contribution deduction you claim on your return.