American FactFinder is the primary way to access data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rico Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Population Estimates Program and Annual Economic Surveys.
This survey by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics shows the amount of time Americans spend on various activities (ex. watching TV, working in the yard, etc.). Tables and charts can be searched by demographic characteristic or activity.
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." - from CIA.gov
The Google Public Data Explorer makes large datasets, imposed on Bureau of Labor Statistics and U.S. Centus data, easy to explore, visualize and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. You don't have to be a data expert to navigate between different views, make your own comparisons, and share your findings. Learn more by visiting the FAQ and checking out the tutorial.
Provides information about populations worldwide with data sheets, a graphics bank, and more. The "core themes" are: Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.
This searchable archive preserves the data from public opinion polls conducted by many leading survey organizations (such as the Pew Research Center and the Gallup Organization) for the use of researchers, students, and journalists.
Summarizes statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Bureau of Economic Analysis. Also available in the Library in print.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.
A major database for business and industry information from all types of publications. A good source for music business and industry information. Indexes Billboard and other entertainment industry periodicals.
When in the database, go to the Thesaurus and type the word "Statistics." You will see DE "STATISTICS" in a search box. Then, click the "Add" button. To refine your search, you can also type additional keywords in the search boxes below the Subject Term.
The online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. Books, journals, working papers, and other documents are available on topics such as the general economy, statistics, and agriculture.
A part of the Centers for Disease Control,this site provides links to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data. Topics include chronic diseases, communicable diseases, environmental health, health practice and prevention, injury prevention, and occupational health.
The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) is the federal agency that is responsible for developing and applying disease prevention and control, and preparing health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
SEER is a program of the National Cancer Institute. Statistics available from this site include tables, graphs and maps of cancer incidence, mortality, prevalence, and the probability of developing or dying from cancer.
As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. NCHS is a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy. NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing. NCHS is a key element of our national public health infrastructure, providing important surveillance information that helps identify and address critical health problems.
The NIMH is the largest scientific organization in the world dedicated to research focused on the understanding, treatment, and prevention of mental disorders and the promotion of mental health. This site includes statistics and information on specific mental health topics, as well as information on research funding and clinical trials.
The SAMHSA Health Information Network (SHIN) includes the National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI) and the National Mental Health Information Center (NMHIC) . SHIN connects the behavioral health workforce and the general public to the latest information on the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders.