Skip to main content

SOCY 499 - Senior Seminar - Dr. Jennings: Article Databases

Fall 2017

A Search Strategy for Scholarly Articles

  1. Start with Sociological Abstracts, the primary scholarly database for sociology.
  2. Search other social sciences and multidisciplinary databases and compare your results.
  3. Search other disciplinary subject databases if your topic will benefit from scholarly articles from another dsicipline.
  4. Search Google Scholar to find additional scholarly articles.
  5. Use Full Text Finder to find the full-text of articles not included in an article database or found through citations in your reading.
  6. If USC Upstate Library does not have access to the full-text of an article you need, order it through Interlibrary Loan.

Full Text Finder

Interlibrary Loan

If you determine that USC Upstate does not have the journal issue containing the article you want to read in electronic full-text or in print, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan. Follow this link, register, and log on to the system. Allow two weeks for delivery at the circulation desk. You will either receive the article as a PDF scan or a photocopy will be held for you at the circulation desk. You will be notified by email when an article arrives, but you may track the status of your order in the My Account feature of the Library Catalog.

Article Databases

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles and books. You will not often find freely available full-text, but Scholar can be a useful tool to supplement searches in other resources. Be sure to check Full-Text Finder to see if an article you want to read is available in a database or print journal at USC Upstate. Use Interlibrary Loan to order articles not available at USC Upstate. Scholar does provide some links to full text in the public domain, open access journals, institutional repositories and some other web sites. If you are on campus or optimize Scholar on your browser for the USC Upstate Library, you will also see links to full-text in several of our subscription databases. Follow these steps:

  1. Go to scholar.google.com
  2. Click menu button at upper left (horizontal bars). Choose Settings.
  3. Click "Library Links" on the left toolbar and type: University of South Carolina Upstate.
  4. Select and save.
Loading