Skip to main content

Distance Learning Support: Library Resources

This guide provides information and links that support distance learners.

Library Resources

 

It is necessary for you to acquire a USC Upstate username and password and a Carolina One ID card in order to access all the resources listed below.  Books must be requested through PASCAL Delivers whether they are USC Upstate books or books belonging to other PASCAL member institutions.  A USC Upstate username and password is required for access to electronic databases and on campus network access.  The Carolina One ID Card has a barcode that is required for use of PASCAL Delivers and USC Upstate Interlibrary Loan materials.  Renewal of all materials requires the barcode number from your Carolina One ID Card.  Click here for username and password information.  Carolina One USC Upstate ID cards are made at the University Department of Public Safety on the USC Upstate Campus and the Upstate administrative offices at UCG (with a 3 to 4 day wait for an active card).

Books:

 

    • PASCAL Delivers—All books whether part of the USC Upstate Library or part of PASCAL member libraries can be ordered through PASCAL Delivers. Delivery of these books can be designated to any PASCAL member library listed as a PICK UP LOCATION. Note: The University Center Greenville’s Library is a Pickup location. Books usually arrive at the destination library within 3—5 business days. Please note that when you search the USC Upstate Library catalog and your search finds no holdings, you may click the blue/green PASCAL button  and the search will be conducted in the PASCAL database of SC academic libraries.

 

    • Renewal of USC Upstate Books— Two 3 week renewals allowed. Place request BEFORE due date.  (From the USC Upstate Library catalog, click "My Account", enter your name and the number on the back of your Carolina One USC Upstate ID card.  Follow directions for renewing items.)

 

    • Renewal of PASCAL Books—One 3 week renewal allowed.  Place request during the five (5) days before the due date.

 

Articles:

 

    • Periodical Holdings
      Search the library's holdings of print and electronic periodicals via Full Text Finde
      r, which contains a listing of journals, magazines, and newspapers subscribed to by the USC Upstate Library.  For delivery, see "Library Services" below. To request an article from a periodical owned by the USC Upstate library that is not available electronically, use the Distance Education Materials Request Form.

 

    • Databases
      Locate articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a particular subject. Many databases include the full transcript and/or scanned image of articles. Look at the description of the databases to see whether it contains full text.  Your USC Upstate username and password are required to access subscription databases.

 

Audio/Visual Materials:

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

James LaMee<br> Coord. of Library Services for Distance Learning's picture
James LaMee
Coord. of Library Services for Distance Learning
Contact:
864-503-5991
jlamee@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 266


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620