Skip to main content

SOCY U302 - Sociological Research Methods - Dr. Zack: Sociology Journals

Fall 2017

Scholarly Sociology Journals

Except as noted, these are all peer-reviewed journals and recognized as important journals in Sociology and related disciplines. Links to full-text below are intended to lead to the most comprehensive representation for each journal and are not necessarily the only full-text available in USC Upstate Library resources. Always use Full Text Finder to look for specific articles.

 

American Anthropologist – Publishes research on cultural, physical, linguistic and applied anthropology.

Back issues in paper (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present, and JSTOR, 1888-7 years ago.

 

American Journal of Sociology – First scholarly sociology journal in the U.S. and still a core journal in the field.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1895-present.

 

American Sociological Review – Flagship journal of the American Sociological Association, this journal publishes theoretical and empirical research on all aspects of sociology.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1936-2 years ago; Sage Journals Online, 2004-present.

 

The American Sociologist – Publishes articles that examine the intellectual, practical, and ethical issues affecting the field of sociology.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1965-2008; Springer Link, 1997-present.

 

Anthrozoos – A multidisciplinary journal publishing research on the interactions of people with animals.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-Text in Academic Search Complete, 3/2005-9/2010.

 

British Journal of Sociology – This important journal provides “a medium for the publication of original papers covering the entire span of sociological thought and research,” with a focus on current developments in research and analysis.

Full-Text in Wiley Online Library, 1999-present; JSTOR, 1950-1998.

 

Canadian Journal of Sociology – This journal (now exclusively online) publishes research articles and theoretical essays on issues that face Canadian society as well as social and cultural systems around the world.

Full-text in Acacemic OneFile, 1996-present; Academic Search Complete, 1998-present; JSTOR, 1975-2007.

 

Child Abuse & Neglect – Interdisciplinary journal that provides a “forum on all aspects of child abuse and neglect, with special emphasis on prevention and treatment; the scope extends further to all those aspects of life which either favor or hinder child development.”

Full-text in Science Direct, 1995-present.

 

Child Maltreatment – Provides an interdisciplinary forum for original research, information, and technical innovations in the field of child abuse and neglect.

Full-text in Sage Journals, 1996-present.

 

Comparative Studies in Society and History – Presents research comparing change and stability in societies all over the world and in all eras.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in JSTOR, 1958-5 years ago; ABI-INFORM, 2001-1 year ago.

 

Contexts – A non-peer-reviewed journal of the American Sociological Association. Publishes information about current social science knowledge, emerging trends, and their significance.

Back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Sage Journals, 2002-present.

 

European Journal of Sociology (Archives Europeennes de Sociologie) – Publishes social science research with an international perspective. Issues tend to be thematic. Articles are published in German, French, or English, with abstracts in all three languages.

Full-text in ABI-INFORM, Nov. 2001-1 year ago.

 

International Journal of Aging and Human Development – Publishes critical reviews, reports, essays, and case studies drawn from the latest research and developments in intergenerational relations, institutionalization, work and retirement.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).


Full-text from publisher, 1999-present, and MEDLINE with Full Text, 6/2003 until 6 months ago.

 

Journals of Gerontology: Series A and B – Publishes original scientific and research papers related to aging. Series A focuses on the biological and medical aspects, while Series B focuses on the psychological and social aspects.

Back issues in paper (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog for Series A or Series B).

Full-Text available in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source for 1/1990-3/1995, Series A, 5/1995-8/2008, and Series B, 1/1995-7/2009.

 

Journal of Health and Social Behavior – “Publishes reports of empirical studies, theoretical analyses, and synthesizing reviews that employ a sociological perspective to clarify aspects of social life bearing on health and illness, both physical and mental.

Full-text, JSTOR, 1967-2 years ago; Sage Journals, 2004-present.

 

Journal of Historical Sociology – Founded on the proposition that historical and social sciences have a common subject matter, this journal contains research articles, reviews, and commentary from the disciplines of history, anthropology, geography, and sociology.

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present.

 

Journal of Rural Studies – Publishes articles on rural social issues in demography, housing, employment, transport, land use, recreation, agriculture, and conservation, with an emphasis on planning policy and management.

Full-text in Science Direct, 1985-present.

 

Journal of Sex Research – Publication of the Society of the Scientific Study of Sexuality, this journal presents a wide range of articles, including methodological and empirical reports, theoretical essays, literature reviews, and historical studies, with a view towards promoting “an interdisciplinary understanding in contemporary sexual science.”

Full-text in Academic Search Complete and other EBSCO databases, 1975-present; JSTOR, 1965-7 years ago.

 

Journal of Social Issues – Publication of the Society for Psychological Study of Social Issues, this journal presents articles that seek to connect behavioral and social science theory, empirical evidence, and practice to human and social problems.

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Academic Search Complete, 2005-present.

 

Mobilization - This journal specializes in "research specializing in social movements, protests, insurgencies, revolutions, and other forms of contentious politics."

Full-Text from MetaPress, 3/1996-present.

 

Qualitative Sociology – Publishes research articles using the qualitative method: interviewing, participant observation, ethnography, historical analysis, and content analysis.

Full-text in Springer Link, 1997-present; Academic Search Complete, 1978-1 year ago.

 

Rural Sociology – Journal of the Rural Sociological Society, publishes articles on rural development, environmental impacts, community revitalization and rural demographic changes, the structure of food and agricultural production, and rural-urban linkages.

Full-text in Education Research Complete, 1936-1 year ago; Wiley Online Library, 1996-present.

 

Sex Roles – Examines gender role socialization, gendered perceptions and behaviors, and gender stereotypes from a feminist perspective.

Back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm), check holdings in library catalog.

Full-text in Springer Link, 1997-present.

 

Social Forces – One of the top social science research journals, this publication on sociological inquiry, but also includes articles relating to social psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics.

Full-text in Project MUSE, 2001-present; JSTOR, 1925-3 years ago.

 

Social Indicators Research – Publishes research that deals with problems related to the measurement of all aspects of the quality of life. Empirical, philosophical and methodological studies are represented.

Full-text in Springer Link, 1997-present; JSTOR, 1974-3 years ago.

 

Social Networks – Provides a “forum for representatives of anthropology, sociology, history, social psychology, political science, human geography, biology, economics, and communications science who share an interest in the study of the structure of human relations and associations that may be expressed in network form.”

Full-text in Science Direct, 1995-present.

 

Social Problems – Official publication of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and a core sociology journal.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1953-3 years ago.

 

Social Psychology Quarterly (former titles: Social Psychology, Sociometry) – Publication of the American Sociological Society that presents “theoretical and empirical articles on the link between the individual and society.”

Full-text in JSTOR, 1937-2 years ago; Sage Journals, 2004-present.

 

Social Research – Publishes interdisciplinary articles in the social sciences and humanities, many with a strong political tone.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1934-3 years ago; Academic Search Complete and other EBSCO databases, 1990-present.

 

Social Science Quarterly

Back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 2001-present; Academic OneFile, 3/1999-2006.

 

Sociological Focus – Publishes theoretical and empirical studies using both qualitative and quantitative methods. Articles cover all aspects of sociology.

Current paper subscription (Current Periodicals) and back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Taylor and Francis Online, 2/1997-present, and in JSTOR, 1967-7 years ago.

 

Sociological Forum – Flagship journal of the Eastern Sociological Society, publishes substantive research using qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the areas of sociology, social psychology, anthropology, and political science.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1986-3 years ago; Wiley Online Library, 2007-present.

 

Sociological Inquiry – Official journal of the Alpha Kappa Delta Sociology Honor Society. Focuses on research by young scholars and graduate students in sociology.

Back issues in paper (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present.

 

Sociological Methodology – Annual publication of the American Sociological Society intended as a “compendium of new and sometimes controversial advances in social science methodology.”

Full-text in JSTOR, 1969-2 years ago; Sage Journals, 6/2006-present.

 

Sociological Perspectives – Official journal of the Pacific Sociological Association, publishing articles that “typically address the ever-expanding body of knowledge about social processes and are related to economic, political, anthropological, and historical issues.”

Full-text in JSTOR, 1983-3 years ago.

 

Sociological Quarterly – Official publication of the Midwest Sociological Society, recognized as a leading journal in the field.

Back issues in paper (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997- Winter 2010; JSTOR, 1960-5 years ago.

 

Sociological Review – An established British journal, publishes research articles, shorter pieces, and book reviews with a focus on Great Britain and Europe.

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present.

 

Sociological Theory – A publication of the American Sociological Association devoted to all aspects of sociological theory.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1983-2 years ago; Sage Journals, 2006-present.

 

Sociology of Education (formerly Journal of Educational Sociology) – Publishes research that examines how social institutions and the experience of individuals within those institutions affect educational processes and social development.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1927-2 years ago; Sage Journals, 2004-present.

 

Sociology of Health and Illness – International journal publishing empirical and theoretical articles on all aspects of health, illness, and health care.

Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present.

 

Teaching Sociology – Publishes articles, reviews, and other material for sociology teachers.

Full-text in JSTOR, 1973-2 years ago; Sage Journals, 2004-present.

 

Theory and Society – An established journal specializing in publishing theoretical research on social processes.

Full-text in Springer Link, 1997-present; JSTOR, 1974-3 years ago.

Credits

The descriptions on this guide are based on Cheryl LaGuardia, Magazines for Libraries, 18th ed. (New Providence, NJ: ProQuest, 2009) and Ulrich's International Periodical Directory, http://www.ulrichsweb.com/ulrichsweb/.